Austria

Vienna – On the trail of Franzl & Sissi

Due to the fact that our Deal of the day voucher was going to expire, we decided to take a city trip of 2 days  to Vienna over Easter break. After we have arrived in Vienna, we went to the grocery store SPAR and bough a traditional “Wurstsemmel”. We recommend to obtain a Vienna travel card, which is valid 24 or 48 hours in order to use the public transport system. Please note that the airport is not within this zone and you need to pay a little bit extra if you take the train from the airport to the city center. We purchased an app in advance, which allowed us to use the maps, metro-plan and sightseeing advices offline.

 

Hotel

We booked the Amedia Hotel in the 4th district of Vienna with our deal of the day voucher. The voucher allowed us to only pay half of the4 price. The hotel was relatively new, and although the design was very reddish, which we had to get used to it. The room was properly cleaned and the breakfast was notable.

 

Shopping

Mariahilferstrasse

We went shopping right after our arrival. There are a lot of stors in the Mariahilferstrasse and you can basically find everything. The shopping street is reachable via tram or metro, and in case shopping is too exhausting, there are a lot of cafes around as well with free Wifi.

 

Outlet Parndorf

Designer-Outlet-Straße 1, 7111 Parndorf

We rent a car on our last day and drove to Parndorf. We have a Mc Arthur Glenn outlet close to Luxembourg, therefore we were very excited to explore the one in Austria. It didn’t disappoint us at all. The variety of stores was amazing: Guess, Uggs, Superdry, Villory & Boch, sportsbrands etc… everything a girl could wish for. We were glad, the guy at the rental service gave us a minivan, otherwise our bags will have never fit into the car.

 

Food & drinks

Radatz

Neubaugasse 7, 1070 Wien

For me, the highlight of Mariahilferstrasse was not the shopping possibility, it was a butcher’s shop called Radatz, which was hidden in a side street. They offered the best meat loaf I have ever tried so far. Simply amazing. Radatz also offers affordable traditional Austrian lunch menus.

 

Bastei Beisl

Stubenbastei 10, 1010 Wien

We decided to check out this restaurant, which is located close to the Stephansdom. Although it’s in Vienna’s 1st districts, the food prices are totally OK. The Bastei Beisl is a traditional Austrian restaurant. You can enjoy a good Wiener Schnitzl or Spätzle. Please make reservations, because it’s usually full. We had a lovely evening in this restaurant.

 

Lutz

Mariahilfer Str. 3, 1060 Wien

Lutz is a bar located on Mariahilfer Strasse. The cocktails were amazing. The bar was full with people in party mood, which created a nice after work atmosphere.

 

Sightseeing

Schönbrunn Palace

We started our sightseeing tour the next day. We took the metro to the Schönbrunn palace. There was an Easter market in front of the palace and we bought tons of gingerbread.


 

We participated an audio guided tour of the palace. Unfortunately, the weather was very bad and we couldn’t visit the zoo of Schönbrunn or the Gloriette.

We left Schönbrunn after checking out the souvenir market (very expensive souvenirs) and stepped once again by the Easter market.


 

Mumok

We strolled towards Mumok. Mumok is located in the museums quarter of Vienna. Candy forced me into a pop Art exhibition but I have to say it was very impressive. I am not very much into art but this exhibition might have changed my mind.  Thank god I could convince her to grab a beer at the sweet cafes right next to Mumok afterwards.


 

Naschmarkt

The Vienna Naschmarkt is a must. A place where you can basically buy all kind of foods and handmade crafts. Please try the Palatschinke, it’s the Austrian version of a pancake.

Vienna is a beautiful city, and it would have been so much nicer in summer. Unfortunately, we have noticed that some of the people are very rude. The Austrian kitchen, the variety of culture offers and our experience at the shopping mall made this trip perfect, and we didn’t care about those rude people anymore. We might come back but only if the weather is good. Vienna is cool, but you definitely see the difference of the people compared to states like Tyrol, Salzburg or Styria – we prefer those mentalities.

 

 

Well, although we were craving for a good lesbian bar or the LGBTQ scene we couldn’t find anything. We went to Mango, which is supposed to be a mixed gay bar but it looks like they are not very welcoming when it comes to female guests. We guess that the scene is only visible, if there are specific lesbian party’s. We still hope that we will somehow make it to a good lesbian party or to the CSD in Vienna because we were a little bit bummed.

Österreich

Wien – Auf den Spuren von Franzl & Sissi

Da unser vor 2 Jahren gebuchter “Deal des Tages” abzulaufen drohte, entschlossen wir kurz vor Ostern für 2 Nächte nach Wien zu gehen. Am Flughafen Wien angekommen, kauften wir uns direkt eine Wurstsemmel, um den ersten Hunger zu stillen. Auf jeden Fall lohnenswert ist es, eine Wien Card zu besorgen, mit der man 24 bzw. 48 Stunden lang kostenlos die Öffis verwenden kann. Allerdings ist der Flughafen nicht in dieser Zone, deswegen mussten wir uns noch ein extra Ticket kaufen. Wir hatten uns im Vorhinein eine App heruntergeladen, welche es möglich macht, auch ohne Internet die wichtigsten Points of interest zu finden. Super ist auch, dass auch bei jeder Sehenswürdigkeit, Cafee, Bar, etc eine U-Bahn bzw. Tram Verbindung angegeben ist.

 

Hotel

Mit unserem Deal des Tages Gutscheins buchten wir das Amedia Hotel  im 4. Bezirk. Dieses Angebot machte uns einen Aufenthalt zum halben Preis möglich. Das Hotel war relative neu, obwohl das ziemlich in Rot gehaltene Design etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig war. Die Zimmer waren jedoch sehr sauber und das Frühstück lobenswert.

 

Shopping

Mariahilferstrasse

Nach unserer Ankunft ging es in die Mariahilferstrasse zum Shoppen. Hier findet Frau alles was das Herz begehrt. Gut erreichbar mit U-Bahn oder Tram, mitten in Wien und wenn das Shoppen zu anstrengend wird, kann man sich in kleinen Cafés ausruhen. In den meisten Cafés gibt es gratis Wifi.

 

Outlet Parndorf

Designer-Outlet-Straße 1, 7111 Parndorf

An unserem letzten Tag in Wien besorgten wir uns einen Mietwagen und düsten nach Parndorf. Da wir nahe Luxemburg auch ein Mc Arthur Glenn Outlet haben, waren wir sehr neugierig auf dieses & wurden nicht enttäuscht. Von Guess bis Uggs, Superdry, Villory & Boch etc. fanden wir alles was das Herz begehrt. Zum Glück meinte der Typ von der Autovermittlung er müsste uns einen Minivan geben, ansonsten hätten wir wahrscheinlich nicht genug Platz für unsere Tüten gehabt.

 

Essen & Trinken

Radatz

Neubaugasse 7, 1070 Wien

Das Highlight für mich waren jedoch nicht die Geschäfte auf der Mariahilferstrasse, sondern ein in einer Seitenstraße versteckter Metzger namens Radatz, welcher den besten Leberkäse den ich je gegessen habe verkaufte. Er bietet auch deftige österreichische Mittagsmenüs wie Schweinsbraten zu wirklich annehmbaren Preisen an.

 

Bastei Beisl

Stubenbastei 10, 1010 Wien

Abends gingen wir dann in ein sehr gutes Restaurant nahe Stephansplatz essen. Obwohl das Bastei Beisl nur Gehminuten vom Stephansdom weg ist, sind die Preise erschwinglich. Ausgezeichnete österreichische Küche & gutes Bier sprechen für sich. Allerdings ist es sehr schwer hier einen Platz zu bekommen, größere Gruppen sollten auf jeden Fall reservieren.

 

Lutz

Mariahilfer Str. 3, 1060 Wien

Abends ließen wir den Tag in einer Bar namens: LUTZ ausklingen. Die Cocktails waren sehr gut. Die Bar war gut besucht, und erweckte den Eindruck, dass hier viel After Work gemacht wird.

 

Sightseeing

Schloss Schönbrunn

Am nächsten Tag stand Sightseeing am Programm. Mit der U-Bahn fuhren wir ca. 20 min. zum Schloss Schönbrunn. Vor dem Schloss war gerade ein Ostermarkt, und wir stärkten uns erstmals mit Lebkuchen.

 

Im Schloss selber nahmen wir an einer Audio Führung teil. Da wir nicht sonderlich viel Glück mit dem Wetter hatten, gingen wir nicht zur Gloriette oder in den Tierpark. Nach unserer Führung, und der Feststellung das die Souvenirs viel zu teuer sind, ging es mit der U-Bahn Richtung Museumsquartier.

Vorher aber machten wir noch einen Abstecher zum Ostermarkt.

 

Mumok

Wir schlenderten zum Mumok. Dort schauten wir uns seine Pop Art Ausstellung an. Ich muss ehrlich zugeben, dass ich nicht sonderlich kunstbegeistert bin, aber diese Ausstellung hat mich echt geflashed. Zum Glück gabs gleich gegenüber ein Café, in welchem wir uns mit Bier und einem Toast stärken konnten.

 

Naschmarkt

Anschließend war es wieder Shopping Zeit. Wir besuchten den Naschmarkt, aßen sehr gute Palatschinken und gingen Richtung Kärntnertrasse.

 

Wien ist eine sehr schöne Stadt, im Sommer wäre es bestimmt noch viel schöner gewesen. Allerdings störte uns die Rücksichtslosigkeit verschiedener Menschen ein bisschen. Die österreichische Küche, das Kulturangebot und die Shopping Mall hat jedoch sehr vieles wieder gut gemacht. Wien wäre auf jeden Fall noch einmal einen Trip wert, allerdings nur bei schönem Wetter. Man merkt hier sehr den Mentalitätsunterschied zu anderen Bundesländern wie zum Beispiel Tirol, Salzburg oder der Steiermark.

 

 

Obwohl wir nach Lesben Bars und der LGBTQ Szene suchten, fanden wir sie nicht, bzw. nicht die guten Lokale. Wir waren kurz im Mango, allerdings schienen Frauen da nicht wirklich willkommen zu sein. Unsere Vermutung ist, dass hier nichts läuft, wenn keine Lesbenparty angesagt ist. Leider wurden wir enttäuscht, möchten es aber irgendwann einmal auf eine gute Lesben Party oder auf die CSD schaffen.