Sweden

Stockholm – a tasty city with expensive cocktails

Thanks to a special vacation deal from Luxair, we were able to fly to Stockholm for only 100€. The light took about 3 hours. The airport Arlanda is a little bit outside of Stockholm and there are several opportunities how to get to the city center:

 

Flygbussarna Bus

This bus leaves directly at the airport and stops at 2 different stations: Stockholm City and Liljeholmen. A single way costs 99 SEK, which is 10€. The bus ride is shorter than the train ride. It takes approximately 45 min to go to the city center of Stockholm.

 

Arlanda Express

The Arlanda Express is besides taking the taxi the fastest way to get to Stockholm, but the most expensive one as well. The train only takes 20 min to go to T-Centralen which is the main station. The single way is 280 SEK, which is 35€.

 

Bus + Pendeltag

The cheapest way to go to the city center of Stockholm is via public transport. First step: take the bus 583 or 589 (departure every 15 min) from the airport to Märstra. 2nd Step: take the Pendeltag, which is a train to T-Centralen in Stockholm. The single way ticket is 72 SEK (7.50€). The tickets can be easily purchased at the counter at the airport or at a vending machine. It takes about 1 hour and 15 min to go to the main station of Stockholm.

 

We were very lucky in term of the wetter. It was mostly sunny, we only faced rain one time. The locals in Sweden are funny peps, always nice and in a super mood. We appreciated the fact that you can get around with English pretty much everywhere. Everybody warned us in advance that Sweden is very expensive but we honestly have to say that we were not that shocked. Of course, are couple of thing more expensive but still ok. The only thing which is very expensive: Cocktails, but we will explain later.


 
Hotel

We have been to Stockholm twice and both hotels listed below are totally recommendable. Motel L is located a little bit outside of the center, not far away from Södermalm, and the Sky Hotel Apartments are close to Fridhemsplan in Kungsholmen.

Motel L

Motel L is within 10 minutes walking distance of Södermalm. There is a tram station right in front of the hotel, if you are too lazy to walk. The hotel itself is very clean, has a modern equipment and reminds us a little bit of the German Motel one chain. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent price-performance ratio.

 

Sky Hotel Apartments

We chose this hotel because of the location, and the fact that each room has its own kitchen. The staff is very friendly, which is like a common thing in Sweden and the room was big. We were very impressed by its clean kitchen. The underground station Fridhemsplan is 10 min away and it takes about 10 more minutes to the center of Stockholm. Breakfast is included and tastes delicious.

Alcohol is very expensive in Stockholm, compared to other western European countries. The price of a beer is about 5€, but a cocktail is so much more expensive, we once spent 20€ for a Gin cocktail. Some bars offer happy hours though.

 

Food & drinks

Meatballs

Nytorgsgatan 30

This restaurant is located in the SoFo district. SoFo is the hipster part of Stockholm. We found it by coincidence, and fell in love immediately. Meatballs is very well visited by tourists and locals. The main attraction of the restaurant is of course its meatballs, called Köttbullar in Swedish. The menu is small, they offer all kinds of meatballs with different side dishes, served with free coffee, cookies and crispbread. Very delicious and not too expensive. Please check out this place if you would like to try this traditional Swedish dish.


 
Flippin’ Burgers

Observatoriegatan 8

Everybody who knows us, knows that we are totally burger crazy. Stockholms apparently best burger was served in a diner called Flippin’ Burgers. The diner opens at 15:00 but when we arrived (14:45) we already noticed a big line infront of the door. We have to go there, we thought. The diner itself looks pretty cool. A very retro design, a lot of beer variations and delicious Ben & Jerry ice cream. The burgers itself were OK, but didn’t convince us, which is no surprise because we are very spoiled in terms of Burgers. The burgers were a little bit too small and the bread looked like the one used in McDonalds. Nevertheless, this place was a good choice and we would come back, but only for ice cream or milkshakes, not for burgers.


 
Mälarpaviljongen

Norr Mälarstrand 64

We let our evening fade away at Mälarpaviljongen. Mälarpaviljongen is a LGBTQ friendly café, located close by the water. The view is breathtaking, and it’s a perfect stop for a sunny day. The staff is very charming. The whole ambience is super chillaxed and easy going.


 

Sightseeing

Fjällgatan

Our first trip was to the observation deck of Fjällgatan in Södermalm. We got this tip out of a Marco Polo guide. The view was simply breathtaking and we could see the complete village of Stockholm, including the amusement park.


 
We basically walked everywhere, therefore we had to make a few beer stops, in order to rest. We had our first Swedish beer in a bar called Harvest Home in Södermalm. We found it on our way to the Meatball restaurant.

On Thursday, we decided to do a hop on hop off tour. The tour was interesting, we finally had the chance to see the parts of Stockholm that were too far away to walk to.

 

Vasa museum

We left our tour at Djurgarden because we wanted to visit the famous Vasa museum. For those who don’t know Vasa: The vasa is an ancient ship, which sank during its maiden voyage in the port of Stockholm. The ship was only salvaged in the 20th century.


 
The salvaged ship is 7 decks high and can be marveled from bridges and extra constructions. The ship is the main attraction, but there are some other parts in the museum as well, which tell the story of the ship, the sailors and its shipwreck. Unfortunately, it’s not allowed to take pictures.

The vasa museum is a must for every Stockholm tourist.

 

Gamla Stan & Kungshallen

The Palace of Stockholm is located in Gamla Stan. We strolled through the alleys and streets up to Kungshallen. This huge hall is filled with restaurants of all different nationalities. There is a little Swedish restaurant / cafe located not far away from the main entry with an excellent price-performance ratio. The restaurants are mostly self-served restaurants. The prices were OK, although the drinks were too expensive at some places.


 
Shopping

We spent the next day shopping in Södermalm. A lot of cute shops are located in this area and we were once again smitten by the friendliness of the locals. Södermalm is definitely the right place for shopping. Some other shopping areas would be for example östermalm but we preferred Södermalm.

 

Sweden is definitely one of the most accepting countries in terms of LGBTQ people. They don’t only have marriage equality or the right to adopt kids, they have so called gender neutral pre-schools.

If you walk along the Götgaten in Södermalm, you can find a lot of LGBTQ bars. We have checked some out and they were pretty amazing. The best part of Stockholm is that you don’t even need to go to a gay or lesbian bar because you are welcomed everywhere. We had a very very positive impression of Sweden and loved the country and its openness.

Schweden

Stockholm – geschmackvolle Stadt mit teuren Cocktails

Dank eines Vakanzen-Specials bei Luxair gelang es uns, das Flugticket nach Stockholm für 100€ zu ergattern. Der Flug dauerte ca. 3 Stunden. Der Flughafen ist etwas außerhalb der Stadt, in einem verschlafenen Örtchen namens Arlanda. Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten um in das Zentrum von Stockholm zu gelangen.

 

Flygbussarna Bus

Der Bus fährt direkt am Flughafen ab und bleibt an 2 Stationen stehen: Stockholm City und Liljeholmen. Eine einfache Fahrt kostet 99 SEK, was umgerechnet ca. 10€. Die Fahrt ist auch kürzer als mit der Bahn.  In einer knappen Stunde ist man im Herzen von Stockholm.

 

Arlanda Express

Der Arlanda Express ist auf jeden Fall neben dem Taxi die schnellste Lösung, allerdings auch eine sehr kostspielige. Nur 20 Minuten benötigt dieser Schnellzug, der ohne Stopp bis zum Hauptbahnhof T-Centralen fährt. Eine Einzelfahrt kostet 280 SEK, was umgerechnet ca. 35€ entspricht.

 

Bus + Pendeltag

Die billigste Variante ist es jedoch, mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel zu fahren. Zunächst geht es vom Flughafen aus mit dem Bus 583 oder 589 (Abfahrten in der Hauptverkehrszeit ca. aller 15 Minuten) nach Märsta, wo am Bahnhof der Umstieg in den Pendeltag, einer Art S-Bahn, erfolgt. Diese fährt ebenfalls alle 15 Minuten und fährt dann zum Hauptbahnhof von Stockholm. Insgesamt dauert diese Variante ca. eine Stunde und 15 Minuten und kostet 72 SEK (7,50€). Die Tickets können am Flughafen am Automaten oder am Servicepoint (gleich am besten Tagesticket kaufen) erworben werden.

 

Wir hatten Glück mit dem Wetter, bis auf ein paar kurze Regenschauer hatten wir fast immer Sonne. Die Schweden sind schon ein lustiges Volk, immer top gelaunt und super freundlich. Sehr lobenswert ist auch, dass man mit Englisch immer verstanden wird und es praktisch jeder spricht. Vorweg schon mal: Jeder sagte uns, dass Schweden so teuer ist, aber so empfanden wir nicht. Natürlich sind gewisse Sachen etwas teurer, aber immer noch erschwinglich. Aufzupassen ist lediglich bei harten Getränken, aber dazu noch später.

 

Hotel

Wir waren bereits 2x in Stockholm und können euch wirklich beide Hotels sehr weiterempfehlen. Das Motel L liegt nicht direkt im Zentrum, ist aber nicht weit von Södermalm weg und das Sky Hotel Apartments liegt nahe Fridhemsplan in Kungsholmen.

 

Motel L

Das Motel L Ist entweder 10 min zu Fuß von Södermalm erreichbar oder man nimmt die Tram. Haltestelle befindet sich direkt gegenüber. Wunderschönes Hotel, sehr modern eingerichtet, erinnerte uns ein bisschen an das deutsche Motel One. Das Personal war super freundlich. Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis.

 

Sky Hotel Apartments

Dieses Hotel haben wir gebuht, da die Lage ziemlich gut ist, und die Zimmer auch eine Küche beinhaltet. Das Personal ist super freundlich (wie so ziemlich jeder in Schweden) und die Zimmer gross. Wir waren begeistert von der Küche, die sehr sauber war. Mit der U-Bahn ist man in ca. 10 min im Zentrum von Stockholm. Auch das Frühstück ist normalerweise inbegriffen und schmeckte exzellent.

 

Essen & Trinken

Alkohol ist in Stockholm ziemlich teuer, im Vergleich zu anderen Westeuropäischen Ländern. Die Bierpreise liegen bei ca. 5€, jedoch kostet ein Cocktail schon manchmal um die 20€. Diverse Lokale bieten auch immer eine Happy Hour an.

 

Meatballs

Nytorgsgatan 30

Im Zentralen SoFo gelegen befindet sich dieses Restaurant. SoFo ist der Hipster Part der Stadt Stockholm. Wir haben es durch Zufall gefunden, und uns sofort verliebt. Es ist sowohl bei Einheimischen als auch Touristen beliebt. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt natürlich auf die traditionellen Kötbullar. Die Menükarte ist klein gehalten, die Fleischbällchen werden in unterschiedlichen Variationen angeboten und dazu gibt es kostenlosen Kaffee, Kekse und Knäckebrot mit leckeren Toppings. Sehr lecker und preislich ok. Absolut weiter zu empfehlen!

 

Flippin’ Burgers

Observatoriegatan 8

Als alte Burger Fans mussten wir natürlich den angeblich besten Burger Stockholms im Flippin’ Burgers testen. Um 15:00 ging das Diner auf, aber bereits 15 min vorher war eine lange Schlange vor der Tür. Da müssen wir hin, Burger in Stockholm, dachten wir uns. Das Lokal an sich sieht Hammer aus. Super Deko, viele Biervariationen und leckeres Ben & Jerry als Nachtisch. Die Burger selbst haben uns leider nicht so überzeugt. Aber wir sind auch sehr verwöhnt was Burger angeht. Jedenfalls fanden wir die Portion etwas zu klein und das Brot ähnelt ein bisschen McDonalds Brot. Nichts desto trotz war es eine coole Erfahrung und wir würden auf jeden Fall noch einmal kommen – zum Eis essen oder Milchshake trinken.

 

Mälarpaviljongen

Norr Mälarstrand 64

Wir ließen den Abend im Mälarpaviljongen ausklingen. Mälarpaviljongen ist ein LGBT-freundliches Lokal direkt am Wasser. Die Aussicht ist toll. das Personal sehr freundlich und charmant. Das Ambiente ist einfach nur schön und entspannt, das merkt man den Gästen an. 

 

Sightseeing

 

Fjällgatan

Unser erster Ausflug war zur Aussichtsplattform Fjällgatan in Södermalm. Diesen Tipp hatten wir aus dem Marco Polo Reiseführer. Die Aussicht war echt Hammer, wir haben über die gesamte Altstadt gesehen.

Wir gingen alles zu Fuß, und natürlich mussten wir nach kurzer Zeit schon die erste Bier Pause machen. Unser erstes schwedisches Bier genossen wir in der Harvest Home Kneipe in Södermalm. Diese hatten wir auf dem Weg zum Meatballs Restaurant gesehen.

 

Am Donnerstag unternehmen wir eine hop on hop off Tour. War sehr spannend, und wir hatten endlich die Gelegenheit ganz Stockholm zu sehen.

 

Vasa Museum

Wir stiegen in Djurgarden aus um ins Vasa Museum zu gehen. Für alle die Vasa nicht kennen: Die Vasa ist ein altes Schiff, welches bereits bei ihrer Jungfernfahrt im Stockholmer Hafen untergegangen ist. Geborgen wurde sie erst im 20 Jhdt.

Über 7 Etagen kann man das geborgene Schiff betrachten und bestaunen. Ganz klar ist die Hauptattraktion das Schiff, welches man von links und rechts, oben und unten bewundern kann. Fotografieren ist erlaubt. Der Bau ist imposant. Alle anderen Sachen im Museum sind als Ergänzung zur Geschichte gedacht und eher von zweitrangiger Bedeutung. Aber das Vasa muss man als Stockholm-Tourist auf jeden Fall gesehen haben.

 

Gamla Stan & Kungshallen

Weiter ging es zu Fuß Richtung Gamla Stan, wo auch der Palast steht. Wir schlenderten durch die Gassen, bis hoch zu den Kungshallen. Diese Halle ist gefüllt mit Restaurants aller Nationalitäten. Direkt am Haupteingang befindet sich auf der linken Seite ein kleines schwedisches Restaurant/Café mit einem guten Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Die Lokation ist sehr schön, aber etwas unpersönlich. Fast überall Selbstbedienung. Die Preise waren ok, aber Getränke relativ teuer.

 

Shopping

Am nächsten Tag gingen wir einfach nur Shoppen in Södermalm. Wir fanden viele süße Shops und waren wieder einmal von der Freundlichkeit des Personals begeistert. Södermalm ist definitiv der Ort zum Shoppen. Es gibt auch Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in östermalm, dennoch hat uns Södermalm mehr überzeugt.

 

Schweden ist wirklich ein Vorreiter was die Akzeptanz von LGBTQ Leuten angeht. Nicht nur, dass sie bereits seit Jahren die Ehe für alle und das Adoptionsrecht haben, sie haben auch Geschlechtsneutrale Kindergärten.

Geht man den Götgatan in Södermalm hoch, sieht man links und rechts viele Lokale. Wir versuchten es in einer LGBTQ freundlichen (erkannten wir durch die Rainbow Fahne) Bar. In diesem Viertel gibt es sehr viele gute Bars. Man muss nicht zwingend in eine Gaybar gehen um sich wohlzufühlen. Wir haben von Schweden einen sehr positiven und offenen Eindruck, und fühlten und egal wo wohl.