Austria

Serfaus – Ladis – Fiss: Snowboarding in Tyrol

Here we are again, just like every year it was time for the annual skiing trip with the family. We went to Serfaus – Ladis – Fiss this time. It took us about 7 hours from Luxembourg to Austria. Unfortunately, we had quite a lot of traffic jam, since there is only a narrow mountain road after border crossing available

But it didn’t matter at all. The weather was good, the mountains (yayy finally Mountains) were covered with snow, it looked so beautiful.

 

Hotel

We booked das Marent  in Fiss. The hotel was relatively new, had a very nice design, and the chef is excellent. The hotel includes a super spa with sauna, swimming pool, massage rooms, etc. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful (what must be a result of the Tyrolean mentality).

The hotel is located about 900m away from Schönjochbahn. To reach the slopes in the morning,  you can either walk through the village or the hotel’s own bus takes a you there for free.

 

Ski-area Serfaus – Ladis – Fiss

This is one of our favorite resorts so far, there are 27 chair lifts or gondolas and 11 drag lifts, and 200 km of slopes in total. Although we heard from a few people that the snow conditions in early January were probably not so good, we could not share this. We had very good runs, and almost all slopes were open. I guess the good conditions were a result of the fresh snow. The waiting time at the lift was totally acceptable. Luckily only some Austrian states had vacation when we went, the maximum queuing was about 15min at busy lanes. What I’ve personally totally enjoyed was (as an old snowboard freak) the halfpipe / fun park. We have to say that SFL has made a lot of cool stuff in regards of runs, for example, bear trail, or Hexenwald etc.

 

Ski huts

Frommes Alp

You will get the best Kaiserschmarrn at Frommes Alp hut. This cabin has convinced us the most. The rustic interior is combined with a spacious open area & terrace. The staff was (although there were a ton of people there) always on the ball. The cabin is accessible via downhill run. 7

 

Schalbar Alm

One also highly recommended Hut is Schalbar Alm. The food was very good, maybe a bit expensive but generally the lodge has a very good location. That’s why it is also almost always crowded. However, the soups are amazing.

 

Apres Ski

 

At around 15:00, our motivation always increased, and we got thirsty. Après-ski music was already playing in some huts or umbrella-bars. Since we didn’t want to stop skiing early, we usually had a small aperitif in the umbrella bar near Möseralm. Afterwards, we snowboarded down to the valley to shake in Hexenalm.

 

Hexenalm

Seilbahnstraße 42, 6533 Fiss

The best spot to dance it off to the music of Gabalier and co. The party stops at 19:00, and the celebrations continue at Hackl’s Kaller

 

Hackl’s Kaller

Obere Dorfstraße 24, 6533 Fiss

Hackl’s Kaller is situated a 5 (drunk 10) minutes’ walk from the valley station Fiss. Located in a 500-year-old building, it’s the perfect spot to continue partying after dinner. We faced a wonderful atmosphere and mood, and some great music. The music was a mixture of Pop, House and après ski of course.

 

The most various ski resort where we have been to so far. Something to improve would be the après-ski offer, compared to ski resorts such as Saalbach-Hinterglemm for example.

 

 

we felt very comfortable everywhere As a LGBTQ couple. We went searching any LGBTQ spots in Fiss because that was not our trip’s priority.

 

 

You can find the video of our trip here

Österreich

Serfaus – Ladis – Fiss: Pistenspass Tirol

Alle Jahre wieder – der jährliche Skiurlaub mit der Familie stand ins Haus. Diesmal fuhren wir nach Serfaus – Ladis – Fiss. Von Luxemburg aus brauchten wir ca. 7h bis dahin. Leider hatten wir relativ viel Stau nach dem Grenzübergang, da nur eine schmale Bergstraße in diese Gegend führt.

Aber egal. Das Wetter war gut, die Berge (yayy endlich wieder Berge) waren schneebedeckt.

 

Hotel

Wir buchten das Marent in Fiss. Das Hotel ist relativ neu, designtechnisch sehr schön, und sie haben einen ausgezeichneten Koch. Das Hotel beinhaltet natürlich einen super Wellnessbereich mit Sauna, Schwimmbad, Massageräume etc. Das Personal war äußerst zuvorkommend und hilfsbereit (was an der Tiroler Mentalität liegen muss).

Das Hotel liegt ca. 900m von der Schönjochbahn entfernt, morgens kann man entweder durch den Ort gehen oder der Hoteleigene Bus bringt einen kostenlos hin.

 

Skigebiet Serfaus – Ladis –Fiss

Bis jetzt eines unserer Lieblingsskigebiete, insgesamt gibt es 27 Sessellift oder Gondeln und 11 Schlepplifte, Pistenkilometer um die 200. Obwohl wir von ein paar Leuten hörten, dass die Pistenverhältnisse Anfang Januar wohl nicht so gut waren, konnten wir diese Erfahrung nicht teilen. Wir hatten sehr gute Pisten, und es waren auch fast alle offen. Lag wahrscheinlich auch daran, dass es die Woche davor endlich geschneit hat. Wartezeiten am Lift waren total in Ordnung. Wir waren da, als gerade ein paar Deutsche Bundesländer und einige österreichische Ferien hatten, maximales Anstehen 15min bei stark frequentierten Bahnen. Im Allgemeinen aber erträglich. Ziemlich cool fand ich persönlich als alter Snowboard – Junkie den Funpark. Generell bietet SFL (Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis) Abwechslung in vielerlei Hinsicht, zb Bärenpiste, oder Hexenwald etc.

 

Skihütten

Frommes Alp

Den besten Kaiserschmarrn gibt es in der Berghütte Frommes Alp. Diese Hütte hat uns am meisten überzeugt. Das urige Innenleben wird kombiniert mit einem geräumigen Offenen Bereich & Terrasse. Personal (obwohl die Hölle los war) stets auf Zack. Die Hütte ist über Abfahrt 7 erreichbar.

 

Schalbar Alm

Eine auch sehr zu empfehlende Hütte war die Schalbar Alm. Das Essen war sehr gut, vielleicht ein bisschen teuer aber generell hat die Hütte eine sehr gute Lage. Deswegen ist sie auch so gut wie immer überfüllt. Die Suppen sind allerdings der Hammer.

 

Après Ski

Bereits gegen 15:00 stieg die Motivation. Von allen möglichen Almhütten hörte man bereits Apres-Ski Musik. Da wir aber noch nicht so früh aufhören wollten mit Skifahren tranken wir meist erst einen kleinen Aperitif in der Schirmbar nähe Möseralm. Anschließend fuhren wir runter ins Tal, um in der Hexenalm abzufeiern.

 

Hexenalm

Seilbahnstraße 42, 6533 Fiss

Das beste Lokal um so richtig abzugehen bei Gabalier und co. Die Party geht bis ca. 19:00, anschließend wird im Hackl’s Kaller weitergefeiert.

 

Hackl’s Kaller

Obere Dorfstraße 24, 6533 Fiss

Der Hackl’s Kaller befindet sich ca. 5 (betrunken 10) Gehminuten von der Talstation Fiss entfernt, in einem 500 Jahre alten Gebäude. Wunderbare Atmosphäre und Stimmung, meistens tolle Musik. Eine Mischung aus Pop, House und Après Ski natürlich.

 

Das vielfältigste Skigebiet in dem wir bisher waren. Verbesserungswürdig wäre höchstens das Apres-Ski Angebot, im Vergleich zu Skigebieten wie Saalbach-Hinterglemm zum Beispiel.

 

 

Als LGBTQ Pärchen fühlten wir uns überall sehr wohl. Wir haben keine extra LGBTQ Spots gesucht, da dies für uns in diesem Urlaub nicht relevant war.

 

 

Hier gehts zum Video