USA

New York City – walking through the coolest city in the world for 6 days

After what felt like 3 months of preparation the day has finally arrived, we were flying to New York City!

We went from Luxembourg to London Heathrow, where we had to stay one night in an Ibis Hotel, because our connecting flight was only the next morning. We would not do that anymore because in the end, we spent more money on the transfer and hotel as we would have spent choosing a direct flight.

The flight from London to New York went by pretty smoothly, unfortunately the service of British Airways was not that great, but nothing could change our good mood and anticipation.

Finally arrived, we had to pass customs first. It is very important to do all the formalities in your home country, in order to pass it without any problems.

 

Hotel

Paper Factory Hotel

Our time was limited to 6 nights in NYC, and we booked the Paper Factory Hotel . The Hotel is located in Queens, but very close to the metro station and it took us approx. 15 min to get to Manhattan’s Times Square. The hotel is really recommendable. In ancient times, the building, as the name suggests, was an old paper factory. The rooms were very nice designed, and in the lobby, you could find a smoothie and breakfast bar. The advantage of a non-Manhattan hotel is that you get more luxury for less money. And in our case, it was the best decision ever because we spent a lot on shopping.


 

Public transport

The only mode of transport which we used was the New York Metro (subway). We bought a 7-day MetroCard for $ 31. You need to pay an extra fee for the trip to the airport but it’s very easy to obtain at the counter. We would recommend taking the metro as often as possible, the connections are good and the subway system is very clear for tourists in our opinion. Our companion was of course again an App, which did a very good service. Be sure to keep the metro card, you can re-charge it later.

 

Day 1 Sunday

Although we had jetlag, we wanted to go to Manhattan and eat something. We took the metro towards Times Square, picked up our New York card for the next day sightseeing and treated ourselves with a good meal at Applebee’s.


 

Day 2 Monday

There is a ton of stuff to see in a city like NYC. We chose to buy a New York pass for 2 days. We are rather doing 2 days of hard-core sightseeing (Tuesday + Wednesday) and chill the rest of the days than just visiting one or 2 things a day. The New York pass gave us free access to the main attractions in New York city and we paid $ 169 per person.


 

On first “real” day we decided to go on a long shopping trip followed by an ice hockey match in the evening. We took the metro towards Times Square and check out all the shops in this area. We bought many things from Victoria Secrets, American Eagle and of course the New York Rangers. We went to Union Square / 14th Street. We were definitely in a shopping paradise. A smoothie between 2 stores here and there kept us alive. Later that day, we strolled through little Italy hoping to find the first pizzeria of the city. Lombardi’s Pizza is located in Little Italy, and is probably the most famous pizzeria in the city. We had a very large and good Pizza & for an Italian pizza in New York, it did not taste bad.


 

We strolled a bit through little Italy and headed back to the hotel. We got ready for the upcoming ice hockey game at Madison Square Garden: New York Rangers against San Jose Sharks. We were immediately blown away. Although we are not necessarily hockey fans, it was just super to see a game live. But there could be some improvement in regards of the beer – we had to drink with straws. VERY unusual.


 

Day 3 Tuesday

Day 3 was our first real sight-seeing day. We made an agenda in order to be prepared for it:


 

In the end, we had to switch our agenda a little bit and visited the following stops:

 

Empire State Building

We were almost the first ones there in the morning, so luckily we had no queue. The view is breathtaking. Thank god that the weather was so good and we could enjoy it at its best. Since we had a lot of fear of heights, we just spent some minutes up on the platform.

 

 

New York Skyride

Located in the Empire State Building, the New York Skyride and is a kind of 4D theater. Super cool to watch, but without our New York Pass it would have been too expensive for what it is.

 

 

The Highlights of Midtown Tour

Our tour guide was a middle-aged French woman, super nice and friendly. About 20 tourists participated that tour. Starting at the UN headquarters building, we went towards Tudor City -Daily News Building – Chrysler Building – Grand Central station- New York Public Library and Times Square. However, we left the group after Public Library because the people walked so slowly, and we wanted to explore a few more attractions on your own.

 

 

Madame Tussauds

For those who do not know it: Madame Tussauds is a waxwork museum, which is located in many major cities. The museum itself is pretty cool because you can take pictures with the waxworks of celebrities or politicians. Madame Tussauds is a classic tourist attraction, so it is good to be informed about possible waiting time in advance. The museum was nearly empty when we arrived. Well, this attraction was cool, certainly an alternative for rainy days, but when the weather is good, you should consider one of the many other outdoor activities.

 

 

9/11 Memorial

The queue for to get into the museum was too long, so we walked through downtown and checked out the 9/11 Memorial and the Wall street (bull).

 

We couldn’t do any more sightseeing because we were too exhausted after this long and impressive day. Without our New York Pass, we would have spent $ 146 per person for all the visited attractions on just one day.

 

 

Day 4 Wednesday

We woke up early in the morning in order to continue our hardcore sight-seeing experience:

 

 

Liberty Island & Statue of Liberty

We took the subway downtown to go on the ferry to the Statue of Liberty. Unfortunately, at least 1.000 other tourists were on that boat as well which was pretty annoying. We were glad when we finally arrived at liberty island. We didn’t visit the Statue of Liberty itself because it was closed that day. After 1h at liberty island, our trip continued towards Ellis Island, the island where the immigrants in the 19th century were registered. A local guy told us that we should go to Staten island ferry instead the next time, it’s for free and there are almost no tourists on board. Too bad, we didn’t know this before.


 

 

Yankee Stadium

We went from downtown up to the Bronx via subway. The Bronx have the reputation to be the most brutal part of the New York boroughs. OK, we were only at Yankee Stadium, but it didn’t occur very brutal and criminal to us. Of course, the borough of Manhattan has visually much more to offer, but the Bronx evolve slowly to a cool place to be. Yankee Stadium was very cool to visit but our next New York trip will definitely include more adventures outside of Manhattan.


 

 

Guggenheim Museum

After our visit to the Bronx we headed back to Manhattan. We visited the Guggenheim Museum. Pretty cool museum, absolutely worth seeing, even if you’re not really into art.


 

 

Central Park

Exhausted from the Guggenheim, we wanted to actually borrow bicycles on the south side of Central Park and explore the park a little bit. Unfortunately, we underestimated the walk from the Guggenheim to the south side area. In the end, we walked for almost 2 hours through the park. while eating ice cream,  we thought about how it would be to be able to go for a run there every day.

 

In the afternoon, we found a nice organic burger restaurant in Hell’s kitchen, where we had some good food and cocktails. We wanted to go out but were too tired.

 

 

Day 5 Thursday

Shopping – shopping – shopping. We headed towards Greenwich Village and shopped the streets empty. Exhausted, we found a cool bar that sold beer at happy hour for about $ 3, which is very cheap for NYC. The Off the wagon was a great pub / bar. We made it to our local pub because the atmosphere was so cool od and our favorite pizza place where we ate the best pizza in the US was right next to it. Okay maybe we exaggerate with the pizza, but in case you should ever be in NYC, please check out Ben’s Pizzeria in the Macdougal street. In the evening, we met up with friends from Luxembourg (they were on vacation as well) at Shake Shack to eat a burger. The Burgers were ok, but not outstanding.

 

Day 6 Friday

We met a cool guy at a bar the evening before and he gave us the tip to go to an outlet in Brooklyn. The Barclays Center is approximately 3km away from the Brooklyn Bridge. We walked the whole way because we didn’t want to miss the chance to see amazing Brooklyn. It is a pretty cool borough of New York; unfortunately way too little attention is being paid to it. The mall was totally fine, I found a very expensive bag for just 20 USD.


 

 

Day 7 Saturday

Shortly before our departure we strolled through Manhattan. Unfortunately, time has passed by too quickly. We hardly had any time for nightlife or the LGBTQ scene, since we were always busy with sightseeing or shopping or too exhausted in the afternoon. We met some amazing people on our trip and we will definitely come back!


 

 

Food & drinks

Applebee’s

234 W 42nd St

The food was serviced quickly although it’s a big restaurant and tasted very good. We had quassedias and a steak. Applebee’s is a food chain and there are around 4-5 restaurants in NYC. We went to the one on times square and totally recommend it – its typical American.

 

Lombardi’s Pizza

32 Spring St

Lombardi’s claims to be the oldest known pizza place in Manhattan. The walls are full with picture of famous people, who ate there. The pizza is very delicious, the dough is super thin, like in Italy but the restaurant is full with tourists. Nevertheless, our favorite place in little Italy.

 

Off the wagon

109 Macdougal St

Amazing after-work location. It’s the best place for a party in the heart of the city. We loved the area of Greenwich village. The beer is very cheap at happy hour and the staff is very cool. A great place to turn an after-work drink into a party.

 

Bens Pizzeria

123 Macdougal St

This pizza place is next to Off the wagon. The best pizza we had in NYC so far! The pizza is typical American: fad, full of oil and delicious peperoni. Great hangover cure!

 

 

NYC is a very colorful and open minded city. Unfortunately, we didn’t have the time to check out Lesbian places. We saw a lot of rainbow flags in Greenwich Village. We will give a better conclusion after we have visited again.

USA

New York City – 6 Tage zu Fuß durch die geilste Stadt der Welt

Nach gefühlten 3 Monaten Vorbereitung war der Tag endlich da, wir flogen nach New York City!

Von Luxemburg aus ging es erstmals nach London Heathrow. Dort übernachteten wir 1 Nacht im Ibis Hotel, da unser Flug weiter nach JFK erst am nächsten Morgen ging. Jedenfalls werden wir das so nicht mehr machen, da wir im Endeffekt mehr Geld für Transfer und Hotel ausgegeben haben, als wir mit diesem Zwischenstopp gegenüber anderen Flügen gespart haben.

Der Flug nach New York verlief ziemlich gechillt. Leider muss man sagen, dass der Service der British Airways nicht gerade super war, aber nichts konnte unsere gute Laune vermiesen.

Endlich angekommen, mussten wir erstmals durch den Zoll. Ein bisschen kommt man sich schon vor wie ein Verbrecher, je nach dem welchen Beamten man gerade erwischt.

 

Hotel

Paper Factory Hotel

Insgesamt hatten wir 6 Tage in New York zur Verfügung. Wir haben uns das Paper Factory Hotel gebucht. Das Hotel liegt in Queens, aber wirklich nahe an der U-Bahn-Station und in Manhattan am Times Square ist man in ca. 15 min. Das Hotel ist sehr zu empfehlen. Früher war das Gebäude, wie der Name bereits verrät, eine alte Papierfabrik. Die Räume waren sehr schon designed, und in der Lobby gab es einen Smoothie & Breakfast Stand. Der Vorteil von einem Hotel, dass nicht in Manhattan ist, dass man mehr Luxus für weniger Geld bekommt. Und in unserem Fall hat es sich richtig rentiert, da wir sehr viel fürs shoppen ausgegeben haben.

 

 

Öffentlicher Transport

Wir sind ausschließlich mit der U-Bahn (Metro) gefahren. Wir haben uns eine 7-day Metro Card für 31 $ gekauft. Für den Weg zum Flughafen ist nochmal eine extra fee zu bezahlen. Wir würden euch wirklich nahelegen, viel wie möglich mit der Metro zu fahren, die Verbindungen sind wirklich gut und das U-Bahn Netz auch sehr übersichtlich. Unser Begleiter war natürlich wieder der City-Scouter App, und er hat wirklich sehr gute Dienste geleistet. Unbedingt die Metro-Card aufbewahren, man kann sie später wieder aufladen.

 

 

Tag 1 Sonntag

 

Wir hatten Jetlag aber wollten dennoch noch ein bisschen in die Innenstadt fahren und etwas essen. Wir fuhren mit der Metro Richtung Times Square, holten unsere New York Card ab und gönnten uns ein ausgiebiges Essen bei Applebee’s

 

 

Tag 2 Montag

 

Natürlich gibt es in New York tonnenweise Sachen zu sehen. Um uns die Planung zu erleichtern, haben wir uns einen New York Pass für 2 Tage genommen. Wir entschlossen uns, 2 Tage hardcore Sightseeing zu machen und die restlichen Tage eher gechillt Sachen besichtigen, ohne Zeitdruck. Der New York Pass verschaffte uns gratis Zutritt zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in ganz New York, und wir bezahlten 169$ pro Person.

 

 

Am ersten „richtigen“ Tag entschieden wir uns für einen ausgelassenen Shopping Tag mit anschließendem Eishockeymatch am Abend. Wir fuhren mit der Metro Richtung Times Square und klapperten erstmals alle Shops in dieser Gegend ab. Schnell waren viele Sachen von Victoria Secrets, American Egles und natürlich den New York Rangers gekauft. Weiter ging es Richtung Union Square / 14th Street. Wir waren definitiv im Shopping Paradies. Zwischendurch mal ein kleiner Smoothie hier und da, und schon gings weiter. Gegen Nachmittag schlenderten wir durch little Italy auf der Suche nach der ersten Pizzeria der Stadt, und wir fanden sie auch. Lombardi’s Pizza befindet sich mitten in Little Italy, und ist wohl die berühmteste Pizzeria in der Stadt. Wir hatten eine sehr große und gute Pizza & für eine italienische Pizza in New York schmeckte sie nicht mal schlecht. Leider war das Ganze nicht so authentisch, wie wir uns das vielleicht erwünscht haben.

 

 

Gestärkt schlenderten wir noch ein bisschen durch little Italy und anschließend zurück ins Hotel. Wir machten uns fertig für das anstehende Eishockey Spiel im Madison Square Garden: New York Rangers gegen San Jose Sharks. Wir waren sofort hin und weg. Obwohl wir nicht unbedingt Eishockey Fans sind, war es einfach einmal super so ein Spiel live zu sehen. Verbesserungsbedarf gibt es allerdings beim Bier – wir mussten mit Strohhalmen trinken. Etwas ungewöhnlich.

 

 

Tag 3 Dienstag

 

Der 3. Tag war unser erster richtiger Sightseeing Tag. Ursprünglich sah das Programm so aus:

 

Im Endeffekt haben wir die Planung ein bisschen umgeswitched und legten Folgende Stationen zurück:

 

Empire State Building

Wir waren fast die ersten, somit hatten wir zum Glück keine Schlange beim Anstehen. Die Aussicht ist atemberaubend. Zum Glück war das Wetter so gut, und wir konnten es in vollen Zügen genießen. Da eine von uns sehr viel Höhenangst hatte, blieben wir nicht allzu lang auf der Plattform.

 

New York Skyride

 befindet sich im Empire State Building und ist eine Art 4D Kino. Super cool zum Ansehen, aber hätten wir es nicht im Zuge unseres New York Passes „gratis“ bekommen, wäre es zu teuer gewesen.

 

The Highlights of Midtown Tour

Unser Tourguide war eine Französin mittleren Alters, super sympathisch und freundlich. An der Tour nahmen ca. 20 Touristen teil. Vom UN-Headquarter Gebäude ging es in Richtung Tudor City –Daily News Building – Chrysler Building – Grand Central Terminal – New York Public Library und weiter Richtung Times Square. Allerdings haben wir uns nach der Public Library von der Gruppe abgesetzt, da die Leute so langsam gingen und wir aber noch ein paar Attraktionen auf eigener Faust erkunden wollten.

 

Madame Tussauds

Für alle die es nicht kennen: Madame Tussauds ist ein Wachsfiguren Museum, und befindet sich in vielen großen Städten. Das Museum an sich ist ziemlich cool, da man neben Wachsfiguren bestaunen auch noch andere Aktivitäten wie zb auf einem Fußball Simulator spielen kann. Madame Tussauds ist eine klassische Touristen-Attraktion, deswegen ist es gut, sich vorab zu informieren, wie lang die Wartezeiten sind. Wir kamen zum Glück gleich rein. Abschließend möchten wir sagen das es cool war, sicherlich eine Alternative für regnerische Tage, aber bei gutem Wetter solltet ihr doch lieber eine der vielen anderen Aktivitäten im Freien in Erwägung ziehen.

 

9/11 Memorial

Die Schlange für ins Museum zu kommen war viel zu lang, deswegen schlenderten wir durch Downtown und begutachteten das 9/11 Memorial sowie die Wall street.

 

Mehr Aktivitäten konnten wir an diesem Tag leider nicht machen, da wir einfach zu kaputt waren. Hätten wir keinen New York Pass gehabt, hätte uns das Ganze 146 $ gekostet.

 

 

Tag 4 Mittwoch

Am nächsten Tag brachen wir schon morgens früh auf, damit wir mit dem Hardcore Sightseeing weitermachen konnten:

 

Liberty Island & Statue of Liberty

Mit der U-Bahn fuhren wir runter nach Downtown. Mit der Touristen Fähre, und gefühlten 1000 weiteren Menschen ging es in Richtung Freiheitsstatue. Auf der Liberty Island angekommen, schlenderten wir durch die Gegend und machten das ein oder andere Foto. In der Freiheitsstatue selber waren wir leider nicht. Nach 1h ging es weiter Richtung Ellis Island, die Insel auf der die Migranten im 19. Jhdt. registriert wurden.

 

Die Fahrt mit dem Boot war leider sehr anstrengend, da sehr viele Touristen an Board waren. Leider erfuhren wir erst später, dass wir dies umgehen hätten können, wenn wir nur mit der stinknormalen „Staten Island Ferry“ gefahren wären.

 

Yankee Stadium

von Downtown aus ging es hoch in die Bronx. Die Bronx haben den Ruf des brutalsten Stadtteiles von New York. Gut. Wir waren nur hoch bis zum Yankee Stadium, aber so brutal und kriminell kam es uns nicht vor. Wir haben uns nicht wirklich unsicher gefühlt. Natürlich hat der Stadtteil Manhattan optisch viel mehr zu bieten, aber die Bronx entwickeln sich so langsam zu einem richtigen Place to be, und bei unserer nächsten New York Reise müssen wir uns tatsächlich mal intensiver mit den Stadtteilen außerhalb Manhattans beschäftigen. Das Yankee Stadium war sehr cool zu besichtigen.

 

 

Guggenheim Museum

Nach unserem Besuch in den Bronx fuhren wir zurück nach Manhattan. Dort besuchten wir das Guggenheim Museum. Ziemlich cooles Museum, absolut sehenswert, auch wenn man sich für Kunst nicht wirklich interessiert.

 

Central Park

Nach einem Besuch im Guggenheim wollten wir uns eigentlich an der Südseite des Central Parks Fahrräder ausborgen und den Park erkunden. Leider haben wir den Weg vom Guggenheim zur Südseite krass unterschätzt. Fast 2h sind wir durch den Park gelaufen. Wir haben ein Eis gegessen und darüber nachgedacht, wie es wohl wäre hier tagtäglich Laufen gehen zu können.

 

Zum Schluss gingen wir noch ein einen Bio-Burger Laden gut essen & Cocktail trinken, bevor wir müde ins Bett fielen.

 

 

Tag 5 Donnerstag

 

Shoppen – Shoppen -Shoppen… wir fuhren Richtung Greenwich Village und shoppten die Straßen leer. Ausgepowert fanden wir eine wirklich coole Bar, die zur Happy Hour Bier für ca. 3 $ verkaufte, was für NYC sehr billig ist. Das Off the wagon war ein wirklich cooles Pub / Bar. Wir machten es zu unserer Stammkneipe, da die Stimmung mega gut war und wir auch gleich daneben die beste Pizza in ganz Amerika gegessen haben. Okey vielleicht übertreiben wir mit der Pizza, aber solltet ihr jemals in NYC sein, bitte schaut bei Bens Pizzeria in der Macdougal street vorbei. Abends trafen wir uns noch mit Freunden aus Luxemburg (die Zufällig auch in NYC waren) bei Shake Shack um einen Burger zu essen. Die Burger waren ok, aber auch nicht überragend.

 

 

Tag 6 Freitag

 

In einer Bar lernten wir am Vortag jemanden kennen, der uns den Tipp gab in ein Outlet in Brooklyn zu fahren. Das Barclays Center liegt ca 3km von der Brooklyn Bridge entfernt. Wir gingen den Weg zu Fuß, um auch etwas von Brooklyn zu sehen. Ein ziemlich cooler Stadtteil von New York, dem leider viel zu wenig Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt wird. Das Einkaufszentrum war jedenfalls sehr lobenswert, haben sehr viele Schnäppchen gemacht.

 

 

Tag 7 Samstag

 

Kurz vor unserer Abreise schlenderten wir noch durch Manhattan und schauten uns die Gegend an. Leider ist die Zeit wieder viel zu schnell vergangen. Wir hatten kaum Gelegenheit das Nachtleben oder die LGBTQ Szene zu erkundigen, da wir stets mit Sightseeing oder Shoppen beschäftigt waren. In NYC haben wir ein paar sehr coole Leute kennengelernt, und wir werden auf jeden Fall zurückkommen!

 

 

Essen & Trinken

Wer amerikanisches Essen liebt ist in NYC genau richtig. Wir haben eigentlich immer hervorragend gegessen. Natürlich ist ihre Küche relativ deftig und vieles wird frittiert. Aber mittlerweile gibt es auch schon relativ viele „gesunde“ Sandwiches auf den Karten, und auch das Angebot für Vegetarier ist vorhanden.

 

Applebee’s

234 W 42nd St

In NYC gibt es einige Applebee’s. Wir waren im Restaurant am Times Square.

Das Essen war gut und wurde schnell serviert. Wir hatten Quassedias und ein Steak. Trotz der Größe und Auslastung war das Essen innerhalb kurzer Zeit serviert der Service war zuvorkommend und unaufdringlich. Für die Lage war die Rechnung total in Ordnung.

 

Lombardi’s Pizza

32 Spring St

Lombardi’s ist die älteste bekannte Pizzeria in Manhattan. Die Wände sind voll mit Fotos von bekannter Menschen, die hier schon mal Gast waren. Ansonsten ist der Laden ziemlich voll mit Touristen. Wir haben aber trotzdem zur Mittagszeit noch ohne Reservierung einen Tisch bekommen. Die Auswahl an Pizza ist überschaubar, aber die Qualität ist gut. Wer eine gute Pizza mit dünnen Boden will, ist hier auf jeden Fall an der richtigen Adresse.

 

Off the wagon

109 Macdougal St

Richtig coole Location um ein After-work Bier zu geniessen.

Wer Party im Herzen von NY liebt und Happy Hour zu low buget Preisen, ist hier genau richtig. Die Barkeeper tragen das Ihrige dazu bei, aus einem Umtrunk eine Party werden zu lassen.

 

Bens Pizzeria

123 Macdougal St

Die Pizzeria ist direkt neben dem Off the wagon. Die Pizza ist so richtig Amerikanisch: fettig, dicker Teig und unfassbar gut. Wir waren so begeistert, dass wir 2x hingingen. Wirklich sehr zu empfehlen!

 

 

NYC ist auf jeden Fall eine sehr bunte und aufgeschlossene Stadt. Leider hatten wir zu wenig Zeit, um Lesben Bars zu finden. Im Greenwich Village haben sehr viele Regenbogen Fahnen gesehen. Ein vernünftiges Fazit wird es nach unserer nächsten Reise geben.