Italy

Milano – the capital city of Lombardy

Milano was a present for my girlfriend. I couldn’t believe it, when she told me that she has never been to Italy before. Never eaten a real Italien Pizza? I couldn’t imagine that and therefore the trip was the perfect opportunity. Traveling to Milano from Luxembourg was quite easily. The plane took about 1,5 hours and we communed to city center by train. We used the tram for the last kilometers to our hotel. The trams were our first highlight: They are so retro! The wagons are from prewar time but in a very good condition.

 

Hotel

We found the Enterprise Hotel Design & Botique via booking. The nice receptionist upgraded us to a small suite next to the main building. Lucky us! The suite was perfect. It was very clean. We were a little bit scared in the beginning because we know that Italy is usually not known for their cleanliness but we were very impressed by it.

 

Sightseeing

Equipped with a tram ticked, we headed towards the city center, to check out the famous Duomo di Milano. Our original plan was to go inside the dome but there were just too many people queuing up in front. We strolled along small alleys and went into Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. Unfortunately, we were not able to buy anything because the designer brands are quite expensive but it was very nice to look. We went shopping in the streets next to the Galleria, where cloths were affordable.

 


 

On our second day, we decided to do something very touristic and booked a hop on hop off tour. We passed a lot of attractions, including the Inter Milano stadium. Our favorite part was the Bohemian part of the town called Brera. We discovered a couple of good restaurants and cafes.

 


 

Food & drinks

Osteria del Sognatore

Via Morimondo, 1

Please don’t get scared by the fact that the toilet is very Italian (means only a whole). The food is delicious. We both had pasta and it was simply amazing. The restaurant is located in an area offside the regular tourist places. Very authentic and reasonable prices. The restaurant can be reached by tram.

 

il Kaimano

Via Fiori Chiari, 20

Very good restaurant in Brera. We have tasted the traditional Risotto Milanese, a risotto which usually includes a lot of saffron. The saffron is the reason why the risotto is very yellowish. Nevertheless, it was an amazing experience! We were truly impressed. Definitely recommendable and a must to try in Milano! PS: limoncello is for free.

 


 

Brera is a very nice area do go out or just chill around on a terrace. There are a lot of cute bars and cafés.

 

 

We were super lucky in Milano. We got in touch with a young woman from Milano via the lesbian platform shoe, who recommended us Rhabar. Rhabar is super easy to reach via tram and not far away from the restaurant Osteria del Sognatore. The bar is super chill and the furniture is made from pallets. There was a Djane playing her set, the night we went, and a lot of girls were celebrating in this bar. We have never been in such a cool lesbian bar so far. It is definitely the most amazing lesbian bar (and maybe the only) in Milano.

Update 2017: Unfortunately, Rhabar has been closed.

Italien

Milano , Hauptstadt der Lombardei

Mailand war ein Geschenk an meine Freundin. Ich konnte es kaum fassen, als sie mir sagte, sie wäre noch nie in Italien gewesen. NOCH NIE NE ECHTE ITALIENISCHE PIZZA GEGESSEN? Das musste ich ändern. Milano konnten wir bequem von Luxembourg aus erreichen. Der Flug dauerte knapp über 1h. Mit dem Zug fuhren wir ins Stadtzentrum und mit der Tram Richtung Hotel. Die Trams waren schon das erste Highlight. Die waren mega Retro. Die Wagons waren noch aus der Vorkriegszeit, aber dennoch bestens erhalten.

 

Hotel

Enterprise Hotel Design & Boutique, gefunden über Booking. Wir bekamen sogar ein Upgrade, eine kleine Suite nicht im Haupthaus. War alles super schön. Anfangs hatte ich ein bisschen Angst, da Italien ja nicht unbedingt für moderne und extreme Sauberkeit bekannt ist, aber wir wurden positiv überrascht.

 

Sightseeing

Ausgerüstet mit einem Tages-Tram Ticket machten wir uns auf den Weg in Richtung Mailänder Dom. Ins Innere haben wir es leider nicht geschafft, dazu waren zu viele Leute. Wir schlenderten durch die kleinen Gassen & sahen die Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. Zwar konnten wir uns hier nichts leisten, aber das machte nichts, denn nicht weit weg befanden sich kleine Shops, wo Mode noch erschwinglich war.

 


 

Ausgeschlafen machten wir am nächsten Tag eine Hop on hop off Tour durch die City.  Leider durfte ich nicht ins Stadion von Inter Mailand gehen (meine bessere Hälft hasst Fußball) aber dafür gingen wir ins wunderschöne Künstlerviertel Brera. Es gibt einige wirklich sehr gute und schöne Restaurants in dieser Gegend.  

 


 

Leider verging die Zeit wie immer viel zu schnell, und an unserem letzten Tag konnten wir lediglich eine Andy Warhol Ausstellung im Zentrum kucken gehen. Wir haben unseren Aufenthalt auf jeden Fall sehr genossen und werden bestimmt wieder mal nach Mailand kommen, vielleicht sogar für ein Fußballspiel.

 

Essen & Trinken

Osteria del Sognatore

Via Morimondo, 1

Allerdings darf man sich vom „italienischen“ WC nicht abschrecken lassen, die Nudeln schmecken himmlisch. Das Restaurant liegt versteckt in einer Gegend, die abseits vom Tourismus ist. Nichts desto trotz ist sie mit der Strassenbahn erreichbar. Das Personal ist sehr höflich und zuvorkommend.

 

il Kaimano

Via Fiori Chiari, 20

Sehr gutes Restaurant im Künstlerviertel von Brera. Wir probierten hier das traditionelle Risotto Milanese, ein Risotto mit Safran und liebten es. Die gelbe Farbe mag zwar anfangs gewöhnungsbedürftig sein, aber schmeckt sehr lecker.

 


 

Nicht weit weg vom Restaurant gibt es auch mehrere kleine Bars und Cafés um anschließend was trinken zu gehen. Der Limoncello geht übrigens in den meisten Fällen aufs Haus.

 

 

Dieses Mal hatten wir Glück. Durch das Forum Shoe traten wir in Kontakt mit einer jungen Frau aus Mailand, die uns direkt die Rhabar empfiehl. Eine Bar mit einer Terrasse aus Palletten, einer Djane die House und Pop auflegte und vielen feiernden Lesben. Bis dato waren wir noch nie in so einem coolen Lokal nur für Frauen. Wir können nicht beurteilen wie die anderen gay Locations in Milano sind da wir nur in der Rhabar waren aber diese hat uns auf jeden Fall umgehauen. Die Bar liegt nicht weit weg von der Straßenbahnhaltestelle Via L. Il Moro. Wir sind uns nicht mehr sicher, ob es die Bar noch gibt, aber falls nicht, kann ich euch auf jeden Fall ein sehr gutes Restaurant namens Osteria del Sognatore in der Nähe empfehlen.

UPDATE 2017: Rhabar ist definitiv geschlossen.