Luxemburg, Tips

Luxembourg by locals – insider knowledge which you won’t find in any travel guide

Well, our country is very small, and for the majority it is more of a transit destination than an actual travel destination, but there are some beautiful places you should not miss. The sights and attractions we have already mentioned here as well as our restaurant recommendations.

The aim of this article is to give you some insider tips from locals that you will not find in any travel guide.

 

 

1. Travel time

According to various websites, the best travel time to travel to Luxembourg is between June-August. We can only partially agree with this. The best travel time should not necessarily depend on the weather (it does rain quite often in Luxembourg to be honest) but according to the events.

 

Springbreak      End of March

The Springbreak is our spring fair. In addition to garden exhibitors, winegrowers from different European regions meet at the Kirchberg in our exhibition halls to present the latest liqueurs and wines. Admission is 5 €, but tickets can be downloaded for free on the website of Springbreak. We like to go to Springbreak every year, as it is interesting to try new wines, and it is also always nice to have a chat with some of the winemakers.

 

 

ING Night Marathon      May

One highlight of the year is the ING Night Marathon! Up to 20,000 motivated runners are reaching their limits in order to compete in the ING Night Marathon. The start is at 19:00 – and everybody is cheering on the runners. Absolutely worth seeing!

 

 

Fête de la Musique      June

The month of June is marked by various music events. The largest Fete de la Musique takes place in the south of the country, in Dudelange. Different bands perform on open air stages and spread a great atmosphere. In addition to the music visitors can explore the variety of food and drinks.

 

 

Luxemburg’s national holiday      23. June

The day before the national holiday is THE party evening in our country. There aren’t any more people in town to admire the big “Freedefeier” than on the evening before our national holiday. Local bands perform in the well-known squares of the Old Town, and Cafés + Discos organize their own parties. The best view of the fireworks is definitely at the Place de la Constituion, at the Gëlle Fra, but our insider tip would be the Independent Café, a few meters down the street. Enjoy the evening with a good cocktail or a gluten-free beer!

Note: Since the city is relatively crowded, the buses are also busy. Check out your connections before you go home and be at the bus stop on time, since there are a lot of people trying to get into one bus. There is not happening a lot on the actual national holiday, most people celebrate the day before properly.

 

 

Gaymat      2nd  saturday in July

The Gaymat is organized annually by the Rosa Letzebuerg organization and takes place in the south of the country, in Esch. The highlight is of course the parade, but there are also interesting movie nights, podium discussions, etc. scheduled the week before.

 

 

E-Lake festival      middle of August (before 15.08)

The E-Lake Festival is an annual festival at Lake Echternach. The best thing about this festival is definitely the fact that it’s for free. Beside local bands, some headliners rock the stage as well, for example Sammy Deluxe, who was there a year ago or the German band Madsen.

 

 

Schueberfouer      End of August – beginning of September

THE fair of the country! The Schuebermesse at Glacies Parking will take place from 23.08 to 11.09 in 2018. Many rides, shooting ranges, bars and public gardens invite you to a boisterous party. Our insider tip: Go to the Gotham club after the Schoberfour to continue the party, and take care that your money is not gambled away on the countless machines.

 

 

 

Veiner Nëssmoort        07. October

Do not let the name nut-market lead you astray. In fact, the focus is on the typical nut liqueur, but other drinks are also offered. Especially nice is the location of this nut market – located in the valley of the Our, overlooking the castle Vianden.

 

 

Bazar International     Beginning of December

The nice thing about Luxembourg is that there is a variety of different nationalities and cultures. The International Bazaar, which takes place in the exhibition halls on the Kirchberg, is the perfect event to get to know them a bit better. Locals who live in Luxembourg (with different nationalities) introduce their country; sell traditional food and drinks as well as one or the other national specialty.

 

 

Chrëschtmaart      End of November – End of December

The Christmas market in Luxembourg is in our opinion one of the most beautiful we have ever visited. It is divided into 3 parts: the first part is at the monument Gelle Frau, the second part (including the skating rink) is located at the Place Guillaume II and the third part (mainly food courts) is located at the Place d’Armes.

A visit is really worthwhile, and the best gluhwine is the one next to Gëlle Fra!

 

Of course, there are other events as well, but the above the best ones are in our opinion.

 

 
2. Where are the best parking spots?

We have to admit, the parking situation in our country is a bit difficult. There are only a few underground parkings in the city, but the queues are really long on the weekend and it’s very hard to find a good spot. That’s why we advise you to use the free P + R parkings:

 

Parking du Glacis

Avenue de la Faiencerie, 1148 Luxembourg

The Glacis is free on weekends (Friday from 18:00 – Monday 08:00). This parking is located in the center, on Limpertsberg and offers parking for about 1,000 cars. Please check in advance if there is an event (Schoberfouer, etc.), because this parking is also often used for events.

 

P + R Boullon

Hollerich (rue de bouillon)

This P + R can accommodate 2250 cars and the city center can be reached by bus very easily. This parking is convenient for people coming from the South (A3, A4).

 

Kirchberg

The P + R on the Kirchberg has 260 spaces to offer at the moment (new parking is planned). This P+R is only recommended if you plan on staying at Kirchberg. Otherwise we would advise to pay parking in the city center, as the parking is limited. However, city center can be reached via bus or tram.

 

 

3. Public Transport

Public transport is absolutely working close to the city center, but we don’t recommend using public transport to go to remote areas or at odd times, because unfortunately our trains, or rather buses, have the tendency to be late or being cancelled. Unfortunately we have had those situations before, especially when big events are taking place. You can check timetables here, and a 1h ticket (valid for all means of transport within Luxembourg) costs € 2 and can be purchased either by mobile phone or at the driver.

 

 

4. The best picnic spots

There are many different places in Luxembourg to have a good picnic. Our favorite place is definitely at the “Stau”. The upper sure lake (official name) is located in the nature reserve Obersauer and in addition to swimming and diving a variety of other water sports are offered as well. The upper sure lake is accessible from several sides, but we recommend looking for a picnic spot near Lultzhausen, the view is amazing there. It takes about 45-50 min to reach the “Stau” from the city center by car.

 

 

5. The cheapest beer

Beer is generally more expensive in the city center than in small villages – but this phenomenon is not new. We only review bars / cafes in the city center below. A beer at the “countryside“ costs  between 2.20 € – 2.90 €, on average. To pay more than 3 € for a beer outside the city center is definitely overpriced. We compared the beer prices of our favorite locations (0.3l Battin or Diekirch beer)

 

Tube

8 Rue Sigefroi                                     3,50 €

Nice pub, located in the middle of the village. Especially recommended for sports fans – something is always showing on TV and when the England national team plays, you better watch out for hardcore fans.

 

De Gudde Wëllen

17 Rue du St Esprit                              3,50 €

Great location for small concerts. We have already discovered some great bands there and recommend going there and check it out.

 

Café Konrad

7 Rue du Nord                                     3,20 €

Pretty cool hipster café that offers many different teas and sweet treats in addition to alcoholic drinks.

 

Urban

2 Rue de la Boucherie                          3,50 €

The after-work location par excellence! The party is usually outside the door and people just drink on the streets.

 

Palais

13 Rue du marché-aux-Herbes              4,00 €

As the name suggests, this bar is not far from the palace. The location is super chic and the cocktails are delicious.

 

Llama 

8 rue du marché aux herbes                 3,50 €

Pretty new location, close to the palais, with some amazing after-work music and drinks. We are really excited so see how this place is going to turn out.

 

Art Scene

6 Rue Sigefroi                                     3,00 €

Small bistro, hidden behind the walls of the palace. Especially popular by younger people.

 

Siegfrieds

41, Allée Scheffer                                 2,50 €

Cool sports bar at LImpertsberg. In addition to the good selection of drinks, this brasserie also offers various Luxembourgish specialties such as “Kniddeln”. Short note: The cheapest beer on our list!

 

 

6. The craziest club

There are a lot of nightlife options in Luxembourg. The most popular area to go out at the moment is Limpertsberg – although Clausen has become more popular lately. However, there is only one location for us when it comes to clubs: The Gotham. As the name implies, the motto of this club is Gotham City. In front of the entrance there is usually a Lamborghini parked and inside there are also some batman inspired decorations, combined with good tunes from nice DJ’s. The dress code is rather chic, and the drinks are not exactly cheap, but it’s definitely a great club to celebrate.

 

 
7. Which language do I need to use in which situation?

That is a really legitimate question. In Luxembourg, we have 3 official languages: German, French and Luxembourgish. However, many people still speak English and Portuguese in addition. Basically, Luxembourgers adapt to their counterparts, ie you can speak German (with a Luxembourger) without hesitation. It gets a bit more difficult in restaurants, where most waiters often speak French only. Offices, doctors and in supermarkets on the other hand, all 3 official languages are mostly spoken. English is usually not a problem, but the French often don’t make any effort trying.

 

 

8. Places you better avoid

Luxembourg itself is a very safe country. Nevertheless, there are a few places / areas that you should avoid especially as a woman (and walking by yourself). We felt insecure in those areas, but that does not mean that they cannot be visited. The best example is in the district Bonnevoie, the area around the “Fixerstuff” – the drug consumption center. The district itself is not dangerous, but many drug addicts hang out around in this area. Another place that should be avoided especially at night as well is the train station to Esch / Alzette. The crime rate is definitely higher there than around other train stations in the country. Rue de Strasbourg and Rue du Hollerich are also very shady during night – these streets are the area of the prostitutes.

 

 

9. LGBTQ Dating

Unfortunately we dont have any lesbian bars in Luxembourg. The easiest way to meet queer people is if you go to a local women-sports event. This is usually  a good place to meet girls. Another recommended way is to meet over some friends. Since the country is very small, everyone knows a queer person. Thats how we have actually met.

Tipps, Luxemburg

Luxemburg by locals – Insiderwissen fernab der Reiseführer

Nun schön, unser Land Luxemburg ist zwar klein, und für viele ist es eher Transit-Land als Reiseziel, nichts desto trotz gibt es einige wunderschöne Plätze, die ihr auf keinen Fall verpassen sollt. Die Sehenswürdigkeiten und Attraktionen haben wir bereits in diesem Artikel erwähnt, sowie unsere Restaurantempfehlungen findet ihr hier.
Dieser Artikel befasst sich stattdessen mit Geheimtipps von Locals, die ihr in keinem Reiseführer finden werdet.

 

1. Reisezeit

Laut diversen Websites ist die beste Reisezeit um nach Luxemburg zu Reisen Juni-August. Diesem können wir nur bedingt zustimmen. Die beste Reisezeit sollte sich nicht zwingend nach dem Wetter richten (ganz ehrlich, es regnet wirklich ziemlich oft hier) sondern nach den Veranstaltungen.

 

Springbreak      Ende März

Die Springbreak ist unserer Frühjahrsmesse in Luxemburg. Neben Garten-Ausstellern treffen sich auch Winzer aus allen Regionen Europas am Kirchberg in den Veranstatungshallen um die neuesten Brände und Weine vorzustellen. Der Eintritt ist 5€, jedoch können die Tickets auf der Webseite gratis heruntergeladen werden. Wir kommen alle Jahre wieder gerne auf die Springbreak, da es zum einen interessant ist, neue Weine zu probieren und zum anderen ist es auch immer wieder schön mit den Winzern ein Pläuschchen zu halten.

 

 

ING Night Marathon      Mai

Das Highlight des Jahres schlecht hin! Bis zu 20.000 motivierte Läuferinnen und Läufer gehen bis an Ihre Grenzen und bestreiten den ING Night Marathon. Start ist um 19:00 – und die Stadt ist im Ausnahmezustand. Gelaufen wird durch Luxemburg Stadt, sowie die umliegenden Stadtteile. Absolut sehenswert!

 

 

Fête de la Musique      Juni

Der Monat Juni ist von diversen Musikveranstaltungen geprägt. Die größte Fete de la Musique findet im Süden des Landes, in Dudelange statt. Verschiedene Bands treten auf Open Air Bühnen auf und verbreiten tolle Stimmung. Neben der Musik ist natürlich auch für Essen & Trinken gesorgt.

 

 

Luxemburg’s Nationalfeiertag     23. Juni

Der Vortag vom Nationalen – Feiertag ist DER Party Abend des Landes schlechthin. Zu keiner Zeit befinden sich mehr Menschen in der Stadt, um das große „Freedefeier“ zu bestaunen. Lokale Bands treten an den bekannten Plätzen in der Altstadt auf, und Cafés + Discos veranstalten eigene Partys. Den besten Blick aufs Feuerwerk hat man definitiv am Platz de la constitition, bei der Gëlle Fra, aber unser Geheimtipp wäre das Independent Café, ein paar Meter weiter unten. Bestellt euch einen guten Cocktail oder ein Gluten freies Bier und genießt den Abend!
Achtung: Da die Stadt relativ überlaufen ist, sind die Buse auch dementsprechend ausgelastet. Unbedingt früh genug losgehen zum Nachhause fahren. Am eigentlichen nationalen Feiertag passiert im Land nicht viel, die meisten Leute lassen es am Vortag ordentlich krachen.

 

 

Gaymat      2. Samstag im Juli

Die Gaymat wird jährlich von der Organisation Rosa Letzebuerg organisiert und findet im Süden des Landes, in Esch statt. Das Highlight ist natürlich die Parade, aber auch die Woche davor sind immer wieder interessante Filmabende, Podiumsdiskussionen etc. in ganz Luxemburg verteilt am Programm.

 

 

E-Lake festival      Mitte August (vor dem 15.08)

Das E-Lake Festival findet jährlich am Echternacher See statt. Das Beste an diesem Festival ist definitiv der Fakt das es gratis ist. Neben lokalen Bands treten auch einige Headliner auf, so war z.B Sammy Deluxe vor einem Jahr da oder Madsen.

 

 

Schueberfouer      23.08 – 11.09

DAS Volksfest im Lande! Die Schobermesse am Glacies Parking findet 2018 vom 23.08 bis zum 11.09 statt. Hier strahlt das Gesicht von Groß und Klein – viele Ringelspiele, Spielbuden, Bars & Gastgärten laden zu einem ausgelassenen feiern ein. Unser Geheimtipp: Geht nach der Schoberfour in das Gotham zum abshaken, und passt auf das ihr euer Geld nicht an den unzähligen Automaten verzockt.

 

 

Veiner Nëssmoort        07. Oktober

Lasst euch vom Namen Nussmarkt nicht in die Irre führen. Tatsächlich liegt der Fokus hier auf den typischen Nusslikör, allerdings werden auch andere Getränke angeboten. Besonders schön ist die Lokation dieses Nussmarktes – liegt im Tal der Our, mit Blick aufs Schloss Vianden.

 

 

Bazar International     Anfang Dezember

Das Schöne an Luxemburg ist, dass sehr viele Nationalitäten, Bräuche und Kulturen aufeinander treffen. Der Internationale Bazar, welcher in den Veranstaltungshallen am Kirchberg stattfindet ist das perfekte Event, um diese mal ein bisschen besser kennen zu lernen. Wahl-Luxemburger stellen ihr Land vor, verkaufen traditionelles Essen und Getränke sowie die eine oder andere Landes-Spezialität.

 

 

Chrëschtmaart      Ende November – Ende Dezember

Der Weihnachtsmarkt in Luxemburg ist unserer Meinung nach einer der schönsten, den wir je besucht haben. Er teilt sich in insg. 3 Teile: der erste Teil ist bei dem Monument Gelle Frau, der zweite Teil (inklusive der Eislaufbahn) befindet sich am Place Guillaume II und der dritte Teil (hauptsächlich Ess-Stände) befindet sich am Place d’armes.
Ein Besuch lohnt sich wirklich, und den besten Glühwein gibt’s unten bei der Gëlle Fra!

Natürlich gibt es noch weitere Veranstaltungen, aber die oben genannten sind unserer Meinung nach die Besten.

 

2. Wo parke ich am besten?

Zugegebenermaßen ist die Parkplatz-Situation in unserem Land etwas schwierig. In der Stadt gibt es einige Parkhäuser, jedoch sind die Schlangen am Wochenende wirklich lang, und das Parken ist auch nicht geschenkt. Deswegen raten wir euch, die gratis P+R Parkings zu nehmen:

 

Parking du Glacis
Avenue de la Faiencerie, 1148 Luxemburg

Der Glacis ist am Wochenende (Freitag ab 18 :00 – Montag 08:00) gratis. Diese Parkmöglichkeit liegt mitten im Zentrum, am Limpertsberg und bietet Parkmöglichkeiten für ca. 1.000 Autos. Bitte unbedingt vorab prüfen, ob keine Veranstaltung (Schoberfouer, etc.) stattfindet, da dieser Parkplatz auch oft für Veranstaltungen verwendet wird.

 

P+R Boullon
Hollerich (rue de bouillon)

Dieser P+R bietet Platz für 2250 Autos und mittels Bus kann hier das Stadtzentrum sehr easy erreicht werden. Ideal für Leute, die aus dem Süden (A3, A4) kommen.

 

Kirchberg

Der P+R am Kirchberg verfügt über 260 Plätze. Wirklich nur zu empfehlen, wenn ihr am Kirchberg zu tun habt. Ansonsten würden wir zu einem kostenpflichtiges Parkhause in der Innenstadt raten, da die Parkmöglichkeiten begrenzt sind. Es soll allerdings ein neues P+R am Kirchberg gebaut werden.

 

 

3. Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

In Stadtnähe sind öffentliche Verkehrsmittel absolut zumutbar, aber wir raten dringend davon ab, damit in entlegene Gegenden oder zu komischen Uhrzeiten zu fahren, denn leider haben unsere Züge, oder vielmehr Busse die Tendenz, zu spät zu sein oder gar nicht zu kommen. Hatten leider schon öfters diese Erfahrung gemacht, besonders dann, wenn Großevents sind. Fahrpläne könnt ihr übrigens hier  prüfen, und eine 1h Karte (gültig für alle Verkehrsmittel innerhalb Luxemburgs) kostet 2€ und ist entweder per Handy zu erwerben oder beim Chauffeur.

 

4. Die besten Picknickplätze

Es gibt sehr viele verschiedene Orte in Luxembourg um ein Picknick zu machen. Unser favourite Place ist definitiv am Stausee. Der Stausee liegt im Naturpark Obersauer und neben schwimmen und Tauchen ist auch eine Vielzahl von anderen Wassersportarten möglich. Der Stau ist von mehreren Seiten aus erreichbar, wir empfehlen einen Picknickplatz in der Nähe von Lultzhausen zu suchen, hier hat man die schönste Aussicht. Erreichbar ist der Stau von der Stadt aus in ca. 45 min.

 

5. Das billigste Bier

Bier ist in der Stadt generell teurer als außerhalb – aber dieses Phänomen ist ja nichts Neues, deswegen gehen wir hier auch nur auf die Stadtlokale ein. Am „Land“ kostet ein Bier im Schnitt zwischen 2,20 – 2,90€ Mehr als 3€ für ein Bier außerhalb der Stadt ist definitiv überteuert. Wir haben mal die Bierpreise unserer Lieblings-Locations verglichen (0,3l Battin oder Diekirch Bier)

 

Tube

8 Rue Sigefroi                                   3,50 €

Mega cooles Pub, mitten in der Altstadt. Besonders empfehlenswert für Sport Fans – hier läuft immer irgendetwas auf dem Fernseher und wenn die Nationalmannschaft aus England spielt herrscht Ausnahmezustand.

 

De Gudde Wëllen

17 Rue du St Esprit                            3,50 €

Super Location für kleine Konzerte. Wir haben hier schon einige tolle Bands entdeckt und kommen immer wieder gerne dahin.

 

Café Konrad 7

Rue du Nord                                      3,20 €

Ziemlich cooles Hipster Café, dass neben alkoholischen Getränken auch viele verschiedene Tees und süße Leckereien anbietet.

 

Urban

2 Rue de la Boucherie                         3,50 €

Die Afterwork Location schlechthin ! Gefeiert wird meist nicht drinnen, sondern draußen vor der Tür. Liegt super um danach auf eins ins Tube zu gehen.

 

Palais

13 Rue du marché-aux-Herbes           4,00 €

Wie der Name es schon erahnen lässt, liegt diese Bar nicht weit weg vom Palais. Die Location ist super chic und die Cocktails schmecken ausgezeichnet.

 

Llama

8 rue du marché aux herbes              3,50 €

Sehr coole neue Bar, nicht weit weg vom Palais. Die After-work DJ’s verhelfen einem zum richtigen Abschalten nach der Arbeit. Wir sind gespannt wie sich diese Bar entwickeln wird.

 

Art Scene

6 Rue Sigefroi                                  3,00 €

Kleines Bistro, versteckt hinter den Mauern des Palastes gelegen. Vor allem bei jüngerem Publikum beliebt.

 

Siegfrieds

41, Allée Scheffer                             2,50 €

Coole Sportsbar am LImpertsberg. Neben der guten Auswahl an Getränken bietet dieses Brasserie auch diverse Luxemburgische Spezialitäten wie „Kniddeln“ an. Kurze Anmerkung: Das billigste Bier auf unserer Liste!

 

 

6. Der schrillste Club

Ausgehmöglichkeiten gibt es relativ viele in Luxembourg. Das zur Zeit beliebteste Viertel zum Ausgehen ist Limpertsberg – wobei Clausen in letzter Zeit auch wieder mehr im Kommen ist.

Clubtechnisch gibt es für uns nur eine Location: Das Gotham. Wie der Name schon darauf schließen lässt ist das Motto dieses Clubs Gotham City. Vor dem Eingang parkt meistens ein Lamborghini und drinnen geht’s ab mit Tunes von nicen DJ’s. Der Dresscode ist eher chic, und die Drinks sind nicht gerade geschenkt, aber es ist auf jeden Fall ein geiler Club zum abfeiern.

 

7. Welche Sprache brauche ich in welcher Situation

Das ist eine wirlich berechtigte Frage. In Luxemburg ist es so, dass wir offiziell 3 Amtssprachen haben: Deutsch, Französisch und Luxemburgisch. Jedoch wird auch von sehr vielen Leuten noch Englisch und Portugisisch gesprochen. Grundsätzlich gilt: Luxemburger passen sich ihrem Gegenüber an, dh könnt ihr (mit einem Luxemburger) bedenkenlos Deutsch sprechen.

Etwas schwieriger wird es in Lokalen, hier sprechen die meisten Kellner oft nur französisch. Ämter, Ärzte und in Supermärkten dominieren wiederum die 3 offiziellen Amtssprachen. English ist meist auch kein Problem, allerdings haben die Franzosen öfters Ihre Probleme damit.

 

 

8. Plätze die man besser meiden sollte

Luxemburg an sich ist ein sehr sicheres Land. Nichts desto trotz gibt es ein paar Plätze, die man vor allem als Frau (und alleine) meiden sollte. Diese Orte / Plätze haben wir persönlich als unsicher empfunden, was jedoch nicht bedeutet, dass sie nicht besucht werden können. Das beste Beispiel ist im Stadtteil Bonnevoie, die Gegend rund um die „Fixerstuff“ – das Drogenkonsum Zentrum. An sich ist dieser Stadtteil nicht gefährlich, aber sehr viele Drogensüchtige lungern in dieser Gegend herum.

Ein weiterer Ort, der vor allem nachts so gut es geht vermieden werden sollte ist der Bahnhof zu Esch / Alzette. Die Kriminalitätsrate liegt hier definitiv höher als auf anderen Bahnhöfen des Landes. Die Rue de Strasbourg soweit Rue du Hollerich sollte abends auch gemieden werden – diese Straßen sind das Anschaffgebiet der Prostituierten.

 

 

9. LGBTQ Dating

Leider gibt es in Luxembourg keine richtige Lesben –  Bar. Um gleichgesinnte zu treffen ist es am sinnvollsten Frauen-Sportveranstaltungen aufzusuchen. Hier lassen sich ganz leicht Kontakte knüpfen. Der einfachste Weg ist jedoch (da das Land ziemlich klein ist) Frauen über Freunde kennenzulernen. So haben wir uns auch kennengelernt. Eine Szene ist leider nicht vorhanden, sie tritt lediglich bei der alljährlichen „Gaymat“ in aktion.