Germany

Cologne

Cologne is a fantastic town. Thanks to the short distance of 2 hours, we sometimes just go there on a Saturday to enjoy the good weather, food or shopping. Not to forget from our nearly monthly hairdresser’s visit.

Cologne provides quite a certain atmosphere. The people are friendly and tolerant; we never had the impression that they would not accept us.

 

Hotel

We can recommend you only the  MOTEL ONE . It is suited in the middle of the city center of Cologne, has its own underground parking, and is very affordable (approx. 88€ per night). The walking distance to the famous dome is 5-10 min. One advantage is as well, that one of the best lesbians of Cologne, the Blue lounge is within walking distance, and you can save some taxi fees by just walking back to the hotel. Don’t worry; we will come back to the Blue lounge later. Motel One is very easy going, the rooms are simple & clean, breakfast can be booked against a surcharge of 8€. Parking is not free at Motel One, but we have found a trick to handle this. For more exact info please write us a message

 

 

Restaurants

Karibik

Am Bollwerk 9

A very good Thai restaurant, from 12-16:00 they offer a so called lunch menu for not even 10€. The. 5-7 main courses cost between € 6-12. The restaurant is suited directly near the Rhine, and you can chillex on the restaurants terrace with a good glass of Kölsch. The service is top, food tastes heavenly. We have eaten a couple times at Nakhon Thai so far, and every time was a pleasure. We highly recommend this place.

 

Dunya Imbiss

Krefelder Str. 13

This is the best kebap place in Cologne. Honestly, the kebaps are made fresh and it just tasts delicious! You can find it at Hansaring, not far away from Saturn.

 

Sausalitos

Heumarkt 67

Sausolitos is a little bit like a Mexican Food chain. The cocktail map is gigantic, and they have something for every taste. The foot is OK. To go there for an evening with friends and going out afterwards, Sausalitos is the perfect place. However, you must be aware, that there is hardly a chance to get a table without a reservation on weekends. The waiters are simply overworked and thus it might happen that the food takes very long and things have been forgotten. Prices for food are ok, but the cocktail quality does not match the price level. Many cocktails are too sweet, but if you would like to have a cocktail to go (they offer this in a 6 pack to take away) you are at the right place. Nevertheless, some positive conclusion: The house DJ throws you in a good mood, the music is always good, but it also increases the noise level in the restaurant.

 

 

Bars

Spirits

Engelbertstraße 63

The stylish bar serves creative and fancy cocktails in an elegant lounge atmosphere. A “cozy” bar in the heart of Cologne. The variety of the cocktails is very good. Prices are a little expensive; my gin cocktail cost around € 13, but the quality is impeccable and the price is totally worth trying one of their cocktails. The service is competent and they also react to individual special requests (on a cocktail base xD). I love their work cloths; the guys wear a white button-down shirt with a bow tie and suspenders. In Spirits, you can enjoy classic cocktails with quality ingredients, a must -Visit for every cocktail lover, even James Bond would feel at home there.

 

Bumann & SOHN

Bartholomäus-Schink-Straße 2

One of Cologne’s Hipster bars, located in Ehrenfeld. The drinks are served by the super nice bar man, and if you are hungry, they offer some grilled food outside as well. The bar is in a very cool design, reminded us of an old factory building. Party starts not before 12:00 in the evening. This place is worth a visit!

 

 

LGBTQ-BARS

Please check out our detailed report for the Kisses & Lies party here!.

Blue Lounge is a combination of a “Kellerkneipe”, a cocktail bar and a mini-disco, designed for lesbian audience. The advantage is that the bar is about a 5 minute’s walk from the Motel One. We usually finish our party nights at this place. The music varies per topic of the evening, depending on the party they are throwing. Sometimes they have live acts there as well.

Update: Unfortunately, Blue Lounge has closed its doors in June 2017

 

We haven’t been to any other gay spots so face because most of them are men-only.

 

Cologne is THE city for queer people. Everybody is so accepting and ok with gay people. We love this city and the fact that people are so open minded there. Its really nice to see that there are some places in Europe where you can truely be yourself.

Deutschland

Köln – Da simmer dabei dat ist prima!

 

Köln ist eine fantastische Stadt. Die nur 2 stündige Entfernung verleitet uns zu oft auch nur für einen Samstag dahin zu fahren und das gute Wetter, Essen oder Shoppen zu genießen. Nicht zu vergessen von unserem beinahe monatlichen Frisörbesuch.

Köln vermittelt einem einen ganz bestimmten Flair: Die Leute sind freundlich und tolerant, nie hatten wir den Eindruck sie würden uns nicht akzeptieren.

 

Hotel

Wir können euch nur das MOTEL ONE empfehlen. Es liegt mitten im Stadtzentrum von Köln, hat eine eigene Tiefgarage und ist mit ca. 88€ pro Nacht sehr erschwinglich. Zu Fuß erreicht man den Dom in ca. 5-10 min. Vorteil ist, dass eine von Kölns besten Lesben Hot-Spots die Blue Lounge zu Fuß erreichbar ist, und man somit auch noch Taxigebühren für die Rückfahrt spart, aber zur Blue Lounge kommen wir später noch einmal. Motel One ist sehr easy going, die Zimmer sind schlicht & sauber, Frühstück kann gegen einen Aufpreis von ca. 8€ hinzu gebucht werden. Parking ist lt Motel One nicht kostenlos, aber wir haben einen Trick gefunden, diese Barriere zu umgehen. Für genauere Infos bitte PN schreiben :)

 

 

Restaurants

Karibik

Am Bollwerk 9

Thailändisches Restaurant, von 12-16:00 bekommt man hier für sehr wenig Geld ein perfektes Mittagsessen. Ca. 5-7 Hauptgerichte sind zu einem Preis von 6-12€ erhältlich. Sehr schön ist natürlich auch, dass das Restaurant direkt am Rhein liegt, bei Sonne kann man auf der Hauseigenen Terrasse bei einem guten Glas Kölsch chillen. Service ist top, Essen schmeckt himmlisch. Wir haben schon öfters im Nakhon gegessen, wurden immer freundlich empfanden und hervorragend verköstigt.

 

 

Dunya Imbiss

Krefelder Str. 13

Der beste Kebap in ganz Köln. Ernsthaft, er ist saftig, die Zutaten sind frisch und Preis-Leistungsverhältnis exzellent. Der Kebap ist am Hansaring, nicht weit weg vom Saturn.

 

Sausalitos

Heumarkt 67

Das Sausalitos ist eine Mexikanische Fast Food Kette. Das Besondere am Sausalitos ist, dass die Cocktailkarte riesig ist, und garantiert für jedem etwas dabei ist. Das Essen ist ok. Für einen Abend mit Freunden, um danach wegzugehen steht einem Besuch im Saulalitos sicher nichts entgegen. Allerdings muss einem bewusst sein, dass man ohne Reservierung am Wochenende kaum Chance hat, einen Tisch zu ergattern. Die Bedienungen sind schlichtweg überfordert und dann kann es leider auch vorkommen, dass das Essen sehr lange dauert bzw. Sachen vergessen werden. Preise sind ok, Cocktailqualität entspricht jedoch nicht dem Preisniveau. Viele Cocktails sind zu süß, wenn man jedoch einen Cocktail to go will (sie bieten diese auch in einem 6er Pack zum Mitnehmen an) ist man hier auf jeden Fall an der richtigen Adresse. Was abschließend noch positiv zu sagen wäre: Der hauseigene DJ macht auf jeden Fall Stimmung, die Musik ist immer gut, allerdings steigt dadurch auch der Lärmpegel im Restaurant.

 

 

 

Bars

Spirits

Engelbertstraße 63

Die stilvoll eingerichtete Bar serviert kreative, ausgefallene Cocktails in eleganter Lounge-Atmosphäre – so lautet der Aufmacher der Bar. Trifft vollkommen zu. Eine „cosy“ Bar im Herzen Kölns. An der Cocktail –Auswahl mangelt es hier nicht, für jeden ist etwas dabei. Die Preise sind etwas teurer, mein Gin-Cocktail hat um die 13€ gekostet. Aber die Qualität ist einwandfrei. Der Service ist kompetent und erfüllt auch gerne mal individuelle Extrawünsche (auf Cocktails bezogen xD). Die Berufskleidung finde ich klasse, die Typen laufen mit Masche, Hosenträger und weißem Hemd rum. Im Spirits kann man die klassischen Cocktails mit qualitativ hochwertigen Zutaten genießen, ein Must –visit für jeden Cocktail Liebhaber, sogar James Bond würde sich hier wohlfühlen.

 

 

Bumann & SOHN

Bartholomäus-Schink-Straße 2

Super coole Hipster Bar in Ehrenfeld. Die Bar erinnert an ein altes Fabriksgebäude. Die Cocktails sind einzigartig und werden direkt von den Barmännern serviert. Sollte euch der Hunger überkommen, gibt es auch hierfür eine Lösung: Im Aussenbereich wird am Wochenende gegrillt. Die Party startet jedoch nicht vor 12:00.

 

LGBTQ-BARS

Einen ausführlichen Bericht über die Kisses & Lies party findet ihr hier !

Die Blue Lounge ist eine Kombi aus Kellerkneipe, Cocktail-bar und Mini-Disko, für lesbisches Publikum ausgerichtet. Der Vorteil ist, dass die Bar ca 5 Gehminuten vom Motel One entfernt ist. Hier lassen wir unsere Partynächte meistens ausklingen. Die Musik variiert nach Thema des Abends. Kann auch schon mal vorkommen, dass sogar Live Bands spielen.

UPDATE: Leider hat die Blue Lounge im Juni 2017 ihre Türen für immer geschlossen.

 

 

 

Wir waren bis dato noch in keine anderen Lokale, da die meisten nur für Männer sind, und nicht so gut aufs weibliche Publikum zu sprechen.

 

 


Köln ist einfach die Stadt schlechthin für queere Leute, die Stadt ist offen dafür und jeder Besuch in diese wunderbare Stadt zeigt, wie weit manche Städte aber sind, in Bezug auf Akzeptanz von gleichgeschlechtlichen Pärchen.