Germany

Hamburg – the pearl of the north Welcome to the most marvelous city in Germany

Did you ever wonder what HH actually means? High Hamburg? Hammer Hamburg? Ok, lets solve the mystery: HH means Hanseatic city of Hamburg. “Hanseatic” was an alliance of merchants, representing the interests of the members in economic, cultural and political issues in the middle Ages. In particular, the shipping industry was promoted by the Hanseatic League, and thus acquired Hanseatic cities such as Hamburg with their free trade and capable merchants from the Middle Ages to wealth.

But enough of the story, let’s get to the geography: Hamburg is located on the Elbe, about 100 km away from the North Sea estuary and currently counts (as of 2018) a population of 1.8 million inhabitants.
 

 
Hamburg is one of the coolest cities we’ve ever been to. Why? Good question. On the one hand, you can be dressed however you like, you get good food & drinks anytime, the people are super friendly and almost everything is accessible by public transport. Not forget to mention the nice sellers in the kiosk who ask you after your beer purchase, whether they should open the beer directly and you take it to “go”.
 


 

Just writing about Hamburg makes us wanna go back immediately.

 
 

So there is so much to see, but where do you start?

The question is not where, but what do you want to do / see? Where should we go is definitely the wrong question, first, you need to think about what you would like to do, since you will most likely have a possibility for your activity in Hamburg! First of all, we would like to introduce you to a pretty cool website with all sorts of insider tips; we used this blog to get some pretty good restaurant recommendations: https://geheimtipphamburg.de/
 
 
 
 
A chill day in Hamburg starts in the “Schanzenviertel”

Why not start the morning with a good breakfast or brunch in Schanzenviertel?. There is enough choice for everybody, and we never had any bad experiences. We can recommend Café Kostbar at Susannenstraße 36 as well as Frank and Frei at Schanzenstrasse 93.

The Schanzenviertel is becoming increasingly popular by young and old, not just because of the hipster flair and the street art. Classic paste-ups, tiles and stencils are located there as well as eye-catching styrocuts. Many cool cafés and bars have settled in the Schanzenviertel and in the neighboring Karoviertel.

If the weather is good it’s also very comfortably to chill in the Schanzenpark near the subway station. In summer there is also an open-air cinema.
 


 
 
 
 
Let’s continue to the “Landungsbruecken” …

We recommend to take the U3 in direction Barmbek and hop out at the stop Landungsbrücken. You are now in the district of St. Pauli.
 


 
The Landungsbrücken (bridges) serve as a landing point for passenger ships (including the ships which takes the passengers to the musicals, harbor cruise tours etc …) and are located between Niederhafen and the fish market on the Elbe.
 

 
You can either take one of the many harbor cruises (we would rather advise you to take a container tour) or go through the old Elbtunnel, which is free to visit all year round.
 
 
 
 
A walk on the Elbe has so much to offer…

 

If the weather is good, we would recommend a walk in direction Hamburg Cruise Center Altona, you are able to discover some pretty amazing stuff located close to the Elbe, in the district of Altona.
 


 
After starting your walk at the Landingbriges, you need to pass the fish market, and after it can admire the Köhlbrandt staircase. Next stop is the Holzhafen (wooden harbor) and the Cruise Center.
 

 
The cruise center is normally used to handle cruise ship passengers, but at the time we were there, it was just a super sale and it was quickly turned into an outlet.

 

The walk-enthusiastic among you:  we would suggest walking for about 1.5 km to walk to the Reeperbahn. The Reeperbahn must be seen once during day and once at night and the difference is literally like day and night … maybe this phrase comes from Hamburg and refers to the Reeperbahn.
 


 
 
 
 

The Reeperbahn, the bad call clouds…

If you follow our directions you will come out at Beatles square. The Beatles had the foundation of their world career in Hamburg. On 17.08.1960, the Beatles performed for the first time on the stage at the “Indra”. The Beatles played 48 times in the “Indra”, which was frequented by prostitutes and their customers before the club had to close because of neighbors’ noise complaints. Their next locations included Kaiserkeller, Top Ten Club and Star Club.

The neighborhood around the Reeperbahn (St. Pauli) is Hamburg’s number one entertainment district. There is nothing that does not exist there. Table dance bars, discos, student clubs, sex shops, pubs, theaters, peepshows etc, even a police station, the famous Davidwache.
 


 
But beware: Dear ladies, keep you away from the Herbertstraße, the prostitution street in Hamburg, unfortunately only men have access to that street.
 

 
Our favorite pub on the Reeperbahn is the Alte Liebe, where we listened to some great concerts and enjoyed ice cold beer.
 

 
A good tip: If you’re there in winter, make sure to visit the Santa Pauli Christmas Market. Instead of candles, dildos are sold here, and instead of Santa Claus there are strippers! That’s the christmas spirt!!

We have only eaten a few times on the Reeperbahn, but we would recommend dining in the neighboring Schanzenviertel. Unfortunately our experience in regards of food was not that great at the Reeperbahn. However, the Reeperbahns bad reputation is not quite appropriate.. Of course you have to be careful in the evenings, and people are quite drunk and misbehave (but these are mostly the tourists), however, the neighborhood still exudes its charm and we

feel totally comfortable as a queer couple and were welcomed everywhere (except in Herbertstraße) with open arms.

 
 
 
 
Heading from St. Pauli to the new HafenCity & Speicherstadt (warehouse district) …

The total contrast to St. Pauli is the new HafenCity. You can reach it by taking the the U3 from St. Pauli to Baumwall. At the Baumwall you can gaze at the newly built Elbphilharmonie.

 

The Elbphilharmonie looks pretty spacy and you better take a look twice to process this image. The Elphi was built on top of the former Kaiserspeicher (a warehouse complex). In addition to the concert halls a few apartments are located as well in this complex, purchase price up to € 10 million.
 

 

After you have passed the Elbphilharmonie head straight to the new HafenCity. The real estate prices are above the average in this area, but it’s a total different quality of living in the new HafenCity. Hamburg’s youngest district is developing into a very popular district of Hamburg. In addition to apartments, shopping malls and a cinema, the new U4, which

connects HafenCity with the rest of the city, was recently introduced to the public.

 

Pass the new Kuehne + Nagel building when you leave the HafenCity and continue walking towards Speicherstadt. As the name implies, these buildings were formally used as hughe warehouses for spices and corn.
 


 
The Speicherstadt is the largest warehouse complex in the world and was built between 1883 – 1928. It was a part of the free port of Hamburg, so the merchants could trade their goods without a burden of duties.
 

 
Nowadays, no “commercial goods” like grain are stored in the cracked storage, but have been used as carpet – warehouses, museums or restaurants.

 

If you would like to dine very well in the Speicherstadt you should visit the Vlet. This restaurant is located in an old warehouse complex. The prices are a bit high, but the food is worth every penny!
 


 
 
 
 
Next Stop – St. Georg, that queer district of Hamburg

St. Georg is just a short walk away from Hamburger train station and is the LGBTQ scene district of Hamburg. However, it must be said that we think that Hamburg is very liberal, and thus does not depend directly on a scene. When we were at the Winter Pride a few years ago, we got introduced to St. George and immediately felt at home. There are numerous queer cafés and boutiques especially in the streets around the Lange Reihe. The hot spot is Café Gnosa, Lange Reihe 69.

 
 
 

There is not much to say except that Hamburg is VERY tolerant. You see a lot of queer couples walking around hand in hand and it’s just not a big deal for anyone! It’s a very nice atmosphere for every queer couple. Hamburg is one of the few cities in which we didn’t even think about potential consequences when being out in public, because it seems to be normal for everybody. .
Hamburg is not only an extraordinary city but also a great destination for LGBTQ people!

Deutschland

Hamburg – die Perle des Nordens Willkommen in der geilsten Stadt Deutschlands

Mal ehrlich, habt ihr euch nicht auch schon gefragt was HH eigentlich bedeutet? Hohes Hamburg? Hammer Hamburg? Ok, wir lösen das Rätsel auf: HH bedeutet Hansestadt Hamburg. „Hanse“ war im Mittelalter ein Bündnis von Kaufleuten, sie vertrat die Interessen der Mitglieder in wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und politischen Fragestellungen. Vor allem das Transportwesen zur See wurde durch die Hanse gefördert, und somit erlangten Hansestädte wie Hamburg durch den Freihandel und tüchtige Kaufleute ab dem Mittelalter Wohlstand.
Aber genug von der Geschichte, kommen wir doch zur Geografie: Hamburg liegt an der Elbe, ca. 100 km von der Nordseemündung entfernt und umfasst zurzeit (Stand 2018) eine Bevölkerung von 1,8 Mio. Einwohner.
 


 
Hamburg ist eine der coolsten Städte in denen wir bisher waren. Warum? Gute Frage. Zum einem kann man sich kleiden wie man will, man bekommt zu jeder Tages & Nacht-Zeit gutes Essen & Trinken, die Leute sind super freundlich und es ist praktisch alles mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbar. Nicht zu vergessen, die netten Verkäufer im Kiosk die direkt nach jedem Bier Kauf fragen, ob sie es auch noch für einem öffnen sollen, super sympathisch.
 

 
Allein schon über Hamburg zu schreiben erweckt in uns dieses Fernweh nach einer unfassbar geilen Stadt (verzeiht uns den Ausdruck).

 

 

So viel zu sehen, aber wo fängt man an?

Die Frage ist nicht wo, sondern worauf hat man Bock? Wo gehe ich hin ist definitiv die falsche Frage, macht euch zuerst Gedanken worauf ihr Lust habt, seit euch versichert, in Hamburg findet ihr es! Vorab möchten wir euch eine ziemlich coole Webseite mit allen möglichen Insider Tipps vorstellen, es lohnt sich alle Male hier einen Blick drauf zu werfen.

 
 
 
Ein gechillter Tag in Hamburg startet im Schanzenviertel

Am besten lässt ihr den morgen in einen der guten Frühstücks oder Brunch Lokale im Schanzenviertel beginnen. Auswahl gibt es genug, für jeden Geschmack ist etwas dabei. Wir können euch Café Kostbar in der Susannenstraße 36 sowie Frank und Frei in der Schanzenstrasse 93 empfehlen.

Das Schanzenviertel wird immer beliebter bei jung & alt, nicht zuletzt durch den Hipster Flair und der Street Art. Klassische Paste-Ups, Kacheln und Schablonen finden sich hier genauso wie auffällige Styrocuts. Viele coole Cafés und Bars haben sich hier und im benachbarten Karoviertel angesiedelt.

Bei gutem Wetter lässt es sich auch angenehm im Schanzenpark in der Nähe der U-Bahn Station chillen. Im Sommer findet sich hier auch ein Open-Air Kino.


 
 
 
Weiter geht’s zu den Landungsbrücken…

Anschließend empfehlen wir euch, in die U3 Richtung Barmbek zu steigen und bis zu den Landungsbrücken zu fahren. Nun befindet ihr euch im Stadtteil St. Pauli.
 


 
Die Landungsbrücken dienen als Anlagestelle für Fahrgastschiffe (u.a. auch den Schiffen zu den Musicals, Hafenrundfahrt etc…) und befinden sich zwischen Niederhafen und dem Fischmarkt an der Elbe.
 

 
Hier könnt ihr entweder eine der vielen Hafenrundfahrten machen (wobei wir euch eher zu einer Containerrundfahrt raten würden) oder durch den alten Elbtunnel gehen, welcher kostenfrei das ganze Jahr über zu besichtigen ist.
 
 
 
Ein Spaziergang an der Elbe hat noch niemanden geschadet…

Wenn das Wetter gut ist, bietet sich auch ein Spaziergang in Richtung Hamburg Cruise Center Altona, hier könnt ihr super entlang der Elbe verschiedene Perlen Hamburgs bzw. dem Stadtteil Altona entdecken.


 
Vorbei an dem Fischmarkt, könnt ihr die Köhlbrandtreppe bewundern. Danach geht’s weiter zum Holzhafen und zum Cruise Center.

 


 
Normalerweise wird das Cruise Center dazu verwendet, Passagiere von Kreuzfahrtschiffen abzufertigen, als wir jedoch da waren, war dort gerade ein Super Sale und es wurde kurzerhand zu einem Outlet um fungiert.

Den geh-begeisterten unter euch würden wir vorschlagen, zu Fuß ca. 1,5 km lang zur Reeperbahn zu spazieren. Die Reeperbahn muss man einmal bei Tag und einmal bei Nacht gesehen haben – umsonst heißt es nicht ein Unterschied wie Tag und Nacht… vielleicht kommt diese Redenswendung ja wirklich aus Hamburg und bezieht sich auf die Reeperbahn.


 
 
 
Die Reeperbahn, der schlechte Ruf trübt…

Folgt ihr unserer Wegbeschreibung kommt ihr am Beatles Platz raus. Die Beatles haben in Hamburg den Grundstein ihrer Weltkarriere gelegt. Am 17.08.1960 traten die Beatles zum ersten Mal auf die Bühne im Indra in der großen Freiheit. 48 Mal traten die Beatles im „Indra“ auf, das damals vor allem von Prostituierten und ihren Kunden frequentiert wurde, bevor der Club wegen Lärmbeschwerden der Nachbarn geschlossen werden muss. Danach noch im Kaiserkeller, Top Ten Club und im Star Club.

Der Kiez ist und bleibt Hamburgs Vergnügungsviertel Nummer 1. Hier gibt es nichts, was es nicht gibt. Tabledance-Bars, Discos, Studentenclubs, Sexshops, Pubs, Theater, Peepshows etc, alles ist dabei, sogar eine Polizeiwache, die berühmte Davidwache.
 

 

Aber Achtung: Liebe Frauen haltet euch von der Herbertstraße, der Prostitutionsstraße in Hamburg fern, leider ist Frauen hier der Zutritt verboten.
 


 
Unsere Lieblingskneipe auf der Reeperbahn ist die Alte Liebe, hier erlebten wir schon ein paar geile Konzerte und die Getränke sind super kalt.
 

 
Kleiner Tipp: Wenn ihr im Winter da seid, müsst ihr unbedingt den Santa Pauli Weihnachtsmarkt besuchen. Statt Kerzen werden hier Dildos verkauft, und statt Nikolaus gibt’s Stripperinnen!

Gegessen haben wir auch schon ein paar Mal auf der Reeperbahn, allerdings würden wir euch das benachbarte Schanzenviertel nahelegen, leider hatten wir bis dato noch keine wirklich leckere Erfahrung mit dem Essen auf dem Kiez gemacht. Dem schlechten Ruf wird die Reeperbahn jedoch nicht gerecht. Klar muss man abends schon mal aufpassen, und Leute sind ziemlich betrunken und benehmen sich teilweise asozial (hauptsächlich jedoch sind das meistens die Touristen) jedoch versprüht der Kiez immer noch seinen Cham und wir fühlen uns als queeres Paar total wohl und werden überall (außer in der Herbertstraße) mit offenen Armen empfangen.

 

 
 
Von St. Pauli aus in Richtung HafenCity & Speicherstadt…

Der Absolute Kontrast zu St. Pauli ist die neue Hafencity. Am besten nehmt ihr die U3 von St. Pauli aus zum Baumwall. Am Baumwall befindet sich die neu gebaute Elbphilharmonie.
 


 
Die Elbphilharmonie sieht wirklich ziemlich spacig aus und man muss schon 2x hingucken um dieses Bild zu verarbeiten. Die Elphi wurde auf dem früheren Kaiserspeicher A gebaut. Neben den Konzertsälen befinden sich auf ein paar Eigentumswohnungen in diesem Komplex, Kaufpreis bis zu 10 Mio. € – ein Schnäppchen also.
 
Von der Elbphilharmonie aus geht’s geradeaus weiter in die neue HafenCity. Auch hier liegen die Wohnungspreise weit über dem restlichen Durchschnitt, dafür wohnt man aber extrem schön. Hamburgs jüngster Stadtteil entwickelt sich zu einem sehr beliebten Viertel in Hamburg. Neben Wohnungen, Einkaufszentren und einem Kino wurde sogar die neue U4 kürzlich in Betrieb genommen, die die HafenCity mit den restlichen Stadtteilen verbindet.
 
Vom der HafenCity vorbei am neuen Kühne + Nagel Gebäude geht’s in die Speicherstadt. Wie der Name bereits erahnen lässt, dienten diese Gebäudekomplexe früher als Speicher.
 

 

Die Speicherstadt ist das größte Lagerhausensemble der Welt und wurde zwischen 1883 – 1928 errichtet. Baugrund war der Freihafen Hamburg, somit konnten die Kaufleute mit ihren Waren ohne Belastung von Zöllen handeln.
Mittlerweile werden in den rissigen Speichern aber keine Getreide und andere Waren gelagert, sondern sind entweder zu Teppich – Läger, Museen oder Restaurants um fungiert worden.


 

Wer mal in der Speicherstadt gut essen gehen möchte, und so einen Lagerkomplex von innen sehen möchte, sollte das Vlet besuchen. Die Preise sind zwar gehobener, aber das Essen ist jeden Cent wert!

 
 
 
 
Next Stop – St. Georg, dass queere Viertel Hamburgs

St. Georg liegt nur unweit vom Hamburger Bahnhof entfernt und ist das Szenen – Viertel Hamburgs. Vorab muss jedoch gesagt werden, dass wir Hamburg als sehr liberal empfanden, und dadurch nicht direkt auf eine Szene angewiesen waren. Als wir vor einigen Jahren auf der Winterpride waren, kamen wir das erste Mal mit St. Georg in Berührung und fühlten uns sofort pudelwohl. Vor allem in den Straßen um die Lange Reihe finden sich zahlreiche Cafés und Boutiquen aus der Szene. Dreh- und Angelpunkt ist das Café Gnosa, Lange Reihe 69. Hier erfährt man tagsüber, was abends und nachts auf dem Programm steht.

 

 
 

Hier gibt’s wirklich nicht viel zu sagen ausser das Hamburg mega tolerant ist. Man sieht auch relativ viele queere Paare händehaltend rumgehen und es ist einfach für niemanden eine große Sache! Wirklich sehr lobenswert und angenehm. Hamburg ist eine der wenigen Städte, in der wir uns nicht einmal eine Sekunde Gedanken darüber gemacht haben, ob wir nun „offen“ miteinander umgehen können oder nicht.
Hamburg ist nicht nur eine außergewöhnliche Stadt sondern auch ein super Reiseziel für LGBTQ Menschen!