Spain

Roadtrip to Costa Brava

What do 4 people do 10 hours in a car? Right, they are going to Spain to the Costa Brava. We passed the French highways and drove right into Spain.

This was a quite spontaneous trip, we didn’t have a big budget, therefore we decided to take the car and booked a hotel via a booking platform.

 

Hotel

Fergus Style Mar Mediterrania – Adults Only

We nearly spent 700€ per person for 7 nights in that hotel. We decided to get the all-inclusive package, since the half-board was not that cheaper and we could drink for free.

The hotel was fine; the rooms were clean the staff friendly but the evening buffet a little bit boring. They had almost the same food every night. On the 3rd day, we went out to dinner because we simply expected more of a 4-star hotel.

 


 

A huge plus point was the location and the fact that it was an adult only hotel. There is nothing worse than annoying children in your hotel. The hotel was very LGBT-friendly as well. Our extensive (and slightly drunk) kiss-attacks in the pool were only noticed by elder people. However, we faced again some problems in regards of sunbed reservation. Seriously, they need to have an employee on site to remove the towels – first come, first served!

 

Beach

The sandy beach right outside our hotel door was very nice.  The sunbeds were not for free though, but you could also lie on the free beach right next to it. The water was clean and the beach massages were really cheap, about 10€.

 


 

We got bored after two days at the same beach, so we took our car and drove to other, very nice beaches near the village Blanes.

One of the best things we did was jet ski riding. For approx. 20€ per person we could cruise for 15 min through the waves. The photographer made super cool pictures of uns. Unfortunately, jet ski was very expensive, otherwise we would have done it every day.

 


 

 It is highly recommended to rent a scooter and drive to other beaches. Despite some difficulties in

regards of the correct route we had a lot of fun. The advantage of a scooter is, that you can easily find a parking lot on the beach and most of them are for free as well. The price to rent a scooter per day is 50€.

We had a lot of fun in Spain and definitely drank a little bit too much. Santa Susanna is a well visited tourist-village but the food could be better. You don’t really recognize the Spanish flair because of the tourist load. When you leave the typical promenade, and move a little further north, you can discover beautiful places and small Spanish restaurants.  Our tip: Always be a little bit careful when a restaurant shows pictures of the food on the menu, sometimes not the best sign for good food.

We stopped in Barcelona on our way back, but you can read our full article here!

 

 

We felt very comfortable as an LGBTQ couple. People didn’t even notice us, although we behaved obvious as a couple. This was very positive and Santa Susanna is definitely a LGBTQ friendly place.

Spanien

Roadtrip an die Costa Brava

Was machen 4 junge Leute 10 Stunden in einem Auto? Richtig, sie fahren nach Spanien an die Costa Brava. Vorbei an den französischen Payage Autobahnen, rein ins tolle Spanien.

Da dieser Urlaub relativ kurzfristig war und wir nicht wirklich viel Budget zur Verfügung hatten, fuhren wir mit dem Auto und buchten ein Hotel über ein Hotelportal.

 

Hotel

Fergus Style Mar Mediterrania – Adults Only

Für fast 700€ pro Person verbrachten wir 7 Nächte in diesem Hotel. Wir entschieden uns für das All-Inclusive Package, da dieses nicht viel teurer war als Halbpension und wir so aber gratis trinken konnten.

Das Hotel war in Ordnung. Die Zimmer waren sauber, das Personal freundlich aber das tägliche Abendbuffet leider etwas langweilig. Bereits am 3. Tag gingen wir auswärts essen. Für uns war das nicht schlimm, aber von einem 4-Stern Hotel haben wir uns wirklich mehr erwartet.

 


 

Ein riesen Plus Punkt war aber die Lage, und dem Fakt, dass es ein Adults Only Hotel war. Es gibt nichts Schlimmeres, als nervende Kinder im Urlaub. Das Hotel war auch extremst LGBTQ-freundlich, die ausgiebigen (leicht betrunkenen) Knutsch-Attacken im Pool vielen auch nur den alten Leuten auf. Jedoch hatten wir hier wieder das Problem mit den Pool-Liegen Reservierungen. Mal ernsthaft, eigentlich müsste wirklich ein Angestellter jegliche Handtücher entfernen, und wer zuerst kommt, malt zuerst.

 

Strand

Der Sandstrand lag direkt vor unserer Hoteltür und war sehr schön. Jedoch musste man Liegen bezahlen bzw. sich auf den „gratis“ Strand daneben hinlegen. Das Meer war sauber und die Strandmasseure waren für 10€ wirklich billig.

Da es uns aber nach 2 Tagen am selben Platz langweilig wurde, fuhren wir mit unserem Geländewagen auch auf andere Strände, in der Nähe von Blanes.

 


 

Richtig cool war das Jet-Ski fahren. Für ca. 20€ durften wir 15 min lang durch die Gegend cruisen. Eine Fotografin machte auch super coole Fotos von uns. Leider ist Jet-Ski fahren relativ teuer, sonst hätten wir es jeden Tag gemacht.

 


 

Absolut zu empfehlen ist es, einen Scooter auszuleihen und damit auf andere Strände entlang der Costa Brava zu fahren. Trotz mehrmaligem Verfahren, hatten wir ne Menge Spaß. Vorteil beim Scooter ist, dass man viel einfacher einen Parkplatz am Strand findet und diese meist auch gratis sind. Der Preis für 1 Tag liegt bei ca. 50€.

Wir hatten sehr viel Spaß in diesem Urlaub und tranken auch viel zu viel. Santa Susanna ist ein lebendiger Touristenort, aber das Essen könnte besser sein. Vom spanischen Flair merkt man kaum etwas, da dies auch durch die vielen Touristen nicht möglich ist. Verlässt man die Promenade allerdings und bewegt sich etwas nördlicher, kann man sehr schöne Stellen und kleine spanische Restaurants entdecken. Unser Tipp: Immer vorsichtig sein, wenn ein Restaurant Fotos vom Essen auf der Karte zeigt, ist meistens kein gutes Zeichen – MEISTENS.

Wir blieben am Nachhauseweg noch kurz in Barcelona stehen, mehr dazu hier!

 

 

LGBTQ technisch haben wir uns total wohl gefühlt. Wir sind fast nicht aufgefallen, obwohl wir uns ziemlich offensichtlich als Pärchen präsentiert haben. War ein wirklich angenehmes Gefühl.

Santa Susanna ist auf jeden Fall total LGBTQ freundlich.