Frankreich

Champagne – on the trail of the of the most festive beverage in the world

 

 

 

A journey through the Champagne

Champagne (French champagne) is a sparkling wine made from grapes that are harvested under strict rules in the Champagne wine region of France – this is how the definition reads on Wikipedia, but where exactly is Champagne and what makes the grapes of this region so special?

 

 

 

 

The region

To reach the Champagne region, we had to drive for about 2.5 hours from Luxembourg, the perfect distance for a short getaway. The production area has approximately 34,000 hectares in five departments: Marne, Aube, Aisne, Haute-Marne and Seine-et-Marne, with the cities of Reims and Épernay. The main growing areas are Montagne de Reims, Vallée de la Marne, the Côte des Blancs and the Côte des Bar. As you can see on our map, the regions are very extensive, which also reflects the different types of soil.

Hautvillers

 

 

The grapes

The following grapes are used for the production of champagne: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier. The mix of these grape varieties determines the character of the champagne afterwards. The dark grapes (Pinot Meunier and Pinot Noir) are pressed white. Those grapes are responsible for the power and body in the champagne, while the white grape (Chardonnay) provides the breed and freshness. How do we know that? Well, if you read a bit further, you will notice that we have been to a lot of wine tastings while in the champagne, and the people like to talk about the production of their champagne.

 

 

 

The champagne production

While the men might have been busy drinking the champagne, two women, Madame Veuve Clicquot and Madame Pommery, revolutionized together with the monk Dom Perignion, the perfection of champagne. Sounds funny, but true. If you look at the history of champagne, there were always extraordinary women, who revolutionized champagne, either through their inventions or their sense of business.

 

 

Madame Veuve Chlicquot: invented in 1806 the riddling and disgorging.

Madame Pommery: invented the “brut nature” in 1874, until then the sparkling wines were sweet and were used exclusively for dessert.

Several prestigious champagne houses are run by women like Vitalie Taittinger or Nathalie Vranken, today, which is amazing to hear in terms of women power, because it seems like the French knew very early that women are a fantastic choice for leading positions :)

Champagne is a sparkling wine that is only produced in a small growing area and is subject to strict manufacturing regulations.

 

One of the biggest differences to winemaking is that about 80% of the produced champagne is made by assemblage: This is the art of blending which combines white wines with some reserve wines to create the base wine for Champagne; Pinot Noir, Pinot Blanc and Chardonnay to maintain the typical character of each champagne brand. Due to the fact that different types / years of wine are blended together, there is no year marked on the bottle.

 

 

If the champagne is from a single vintage, it is called Millésime.

The second fermentation takes place after the assemblage and the wine is added to liqueur de tirage (yeast and sugar). There are 2 ways to get the yeast sugar mixture into the bottleneck afterwards.

 

 

Method 1 (older method) pupitres de remuage

The Champagne bottle is placed upside down in a holder with a 75-degree angle. Each day, the riddler gives the bottle a 1/8th of a turn whilst keeping it upside down. This procedure forces the dead yeast cells float into the bottleneck where they are subsequently removed.

 

 

 

Method 2 gyropalettes

The bottles are placed in so-called gyro-palettes, those pallets riddels the bottles then automatically. In terms of quality, we were assured that both procedures are absolutely equivalent.

 

 

The disgorgement is the final step in the production of Champagne (that’s where the bubbles are created as well). The Champagne bottle is kept upside down while the neck is frozen in an ice-salt bath. This procedure results in the formation of a plug of frozen wine containing the dead yeast cells. Finally, the bottle cap is removed and the pressure of the carbon dioxide gas in the bottle forces the plug of frozen wine out (“disgorging”) leaving behind clear Champagne. By doing so, a little bit of wine gets spilled out of the bottle.

 

To compensate the loss of liquid, a mixture of white wine, brandy and sugar (Liqueur de tirage) is added to adjust the sweetness level of the wine and to top up the bottle. This procedure decides whether the Champagne will be Brut Nature (12g/L sugar), Extra Brut, Brut, Extra Dry, Dry, Semi Dry or Doux.

 

 

 

Our route: Epernay, Hautvillers, Cramant, Avize, Mesnil, Rilly la Montagne & Reims

 

 

All in all, we were on the road for 4 days and we wanted to experience the culture of champagne and its region as authentically as possible. We aimed for small family wineries instead of the big ones and decided to only visit two of the big champagne houses – Mercier in Épernay and Pommery in Reims. We must mention at that this point, that we did not inform ourselves in advance about potential wineries or about the champagne itself, the vineyards were 100% spontaneously selected. Sounds strange, but we actually rang the bell at random houses without getting in touch first – because our friends have told us that this is the best way to get the true champagne experience…and they were so right!

 

 

 

 

Épernay

We started our journey in Épernay. Épernay is a 2 hours’ drive from Paris and together with Reims, it is the heart of Champagne region. Our highlight was the beautiful Avenue de Champagne, were most of the big houses like Moët Chandon, Mercier and Boizel are located.

 

 

Accommodation

Chambre D’hôtes Les Epicuriens,

9 Rue Jean Thévenin, 51200 Épernay

 

Our Chambre d ‘hôte (B & B) was located in the center of Épernay and we can absolutely recommend this place. The nice lady greeted us with a glass of champagne and a small aperitif (that’s how the French call their appetizers). Large rooms, cleanliness and an excellent breakfast in the morning (served in the room by the hostess in person) were the perfect start in the day for exploring the Champagne vineyards.

 

 

 

 

Mercier

68 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Épernay

 

Mercier’s champagne is one of France’s top-selling champagnes. If you enter the building of Mercier which is located on the Avenue de Champagne, you will immediately notice the huge wine barrel. More than 20 ox pairs moved this barrel to Paris for the 1889 World’s Fair, and Mercier’s “Le Foudre” was only surpassed by the Eiffel Tower.

 

 

The tour of the winery starts in the cellars, before starting the actual tour in their train, visitors need to take an elevator down for 30 meters. In addition to the hundreds of thousands of bottles of champagne, we learned a lot about the history (audioguide) and the frescoes in the cellar. One thing that impressed us was the fact that Mercier moved parts of the champagne production to Luxembourg at the end of the 19th century, which makes our little country part of his great empire.

 

 

The price of the tour + tasting of 3 glasses of champagne was € 28.

 

 

 

 

Vignobles Michel Gonet

37 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Epernay

Located on the stunning Avenue de Champagne is the winery of Michel Gonet, a location that convinced by its beautiful garden. For 15 € we got 3 glasses of their champagne, including a champagne that convinced by its light whiskey taste. This little castle is the perfect spot for a break.

 

 

 

Hautvillers

The small village of Hautvillers is less than 10 minutes away from Épernay and is known as the cradle of champagne. It was actually the monk Dom Pérignon, who transformed the first wine into champagne in the 17th century in the Benedictine abbey of Hautvillers.

 

Today, this village is characterized by small cellars and great viewpoints, including a beautiful picnic spot. Our tip: grab a blanket, baguette, cheese and a bottle of champagne and enjoy the view on top of the vineyards.

 

 

Cramant

The next day, our trip continued in direction Côte de Blancs. The Côte de Blancs were named after their white chalk-lime-soils, on which grows almost exclusively the white grape Chardonnay, which is one of the three main grape varieties of Champagne.

 

 

 

 

Lancelot-Royer

540 rue du Général de Gaulle, 51530 Cramant

We have discovered this vineyard by coincidence, we stopped because we really wanted to take a picture of the huge champagne bottle. We decided to pay this champagne house a visit since we are already there, and lucky us, he was home.

 

The champagne range of Lancelot-Royer includes Cuvées Réserve and Grand Crus. Made from 100% Chardonnay grapes, they convinces with its lightness and freshness. The price per bottle is between 17.35 € and 29.60 €. The tasting and tour of the winery was free for us, as we couldn’t resist to buy a few bottles of course.

 

 

 

Avize

Avize is the village after Crament on the Champagne Street. The abandoned-looking village has more to offer than one might expect, so make sure you plan a stop there.

 

 

 

 

Le Brun Servenay

14 place Léon Bourgeois, 51190 Avize

A visit to Le Brun Servenay is an absolute must in Avize! The small tasting room looks really nice and in addition to champagne, this winery also sells its own champagne flutes. Their Extra brut Cuvée Chardonnay Millésime 2006, which you can buy for reasonable 30,50 €, was awarded in the Hachette des vins Guide with a heart, against competitors of large houses like Krug, whose bottles you are certainly not able to buy for 30.50 €.

Our favourite champagne was the Grand Cru Cuvée “Melody and C.” from 100% Chardonnay, for 19,70 €. We also recommend trying the Rosé Champagne, which is delightful!

Although the nice lady was expecting another group (who has made an appointment and didn’t show up spontaneously like we did), she took a lot of time to properly explaining the champagne to us and showing us their products, so thumbs up for this tasting, it was excellent and we had more than 5 glasses of amazing champagne!

 

 

 

 

Gerard Dubois

67 rue Ernest Vallé, 51190 Avize

 

Honestly, this tasting was one of the best. Not just because of the tasty champagne, but it was exactly what we originally wanted. We found while strolling through Avize, we luckily decided to ring the bell. An old man opened the door and when we asked him if he had time for a tasting, he replied (with his mouth full) that he is eating at the moment, but we could come back in half an hour. At first we were a bit queasy, but when knocked half an hour later, he invited us directly into his living room. Yes, the entire tasting took place in his private living room. He proudly showed us his grandfather’s bottles, photos of his dogs and his own wines. We tasted an excellent Blanc de Blancs Cuvée from 2003, which was sold for about 28 € and other Réserves and his rosé. The tasting per bottle usually costs 12 €, but as soon as you buy something, it is included in the price. It was by far the best tasting experience ever!

 

different bottle sizes

 

 

 

Veuve J. Lanaud

3 place Léon Bourgeois, 51190 Avize

 

 

This champagne house is very tourist friendly. Not that the others are not, but the flyers in the entrance are as well in English and the nice lady explained that she welcomes a lot of international clientele. The tasting is advertised by a blackboard in front of the house, which is rare, because no other winery does that normally in Avize.

The Cuvée (66% Chardonnay, 17% Pinot Noir and 17% Meunier), for 17.90 € tasted great and the young lady knew what she was talking about. Lanaud also offers special champagne (limited editions) such as the Cuvée Marie Joséphine for 31 €. The tasting costs 15 € per person, but is free if you purchase 3 bottles per person. We benefited from that offer:)

 

 

In case the champagnes make you hungry, we strongly recommend “Le Recommandé” in Avize.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This brasserie is located in the building of the old post office and is worth a visit. This place offers craft beer and delicious appetizers at reasonable prices in addition to their champagne variations from the region. The highlight is by far the toilet – stepping out of the closet is the motto :)

 

 

 

 

Le Mesnil-sur-Oger

 

We continued our trip via Oger to Le Mesnil-sur-Oger. We also planned to drive to Vertus, but unfortunately we ran out of time since most cellars are only open until 17:00.

 

 

 

Launois père et fils

2 Avenue Eugène Guillaume, 51190 Le Mesnil-sur-Oger

 

The location is worth a visit. The winery is located in a castle, the tasting takes place on huge Rennessaince couches. Unfortunately convinced of the champagne, in our opinion the freshness and the “fruitiness” was missing. We can recommend one champage though, the Rose Valentine, from 100% Pinot noir. The tasting was free of charge, although we only bought a bottle for € 19.75. So go there for the “ambience” but not for the wine!

 

 

 

Rilly la Montagne

Located in the Montagne de Reims, Rilly la Montagne is the perfect point of departure to visit Reims. Rilly is known for its premier crus. Premier Cru is the name of the first crop.

 

 

Like the name itself explains, the second, third, fourth and fifth crops is ranked after the premier cru, so the quality of this champagne is extremely high. The village is very beautiful and we kind of had the impression (compared to the other villages visited) that we were in the Monaco of champagne, because there were so many excellent champagne cellar at every corner.

 

 

Accommodation

Les Bulles Dorées, Champagne Didier Herbert

32 Rue de Reims, 51500 Rilley la Montagne

 

 

Our accommodation was located in the champagne house of Didier Herbert, in the heart of the vineyards, and consisted of 4 rooms.

 

The rooms are very chic furnished and the communal living room included a built-in wine cabinet, filled with in-house champagne. We benefited from the beautiful garden and chilled there one afternoon with a good bottle of Brut Rosé Premier Cru.

 

 

The prices per night are a bit higher compared to other accommodations in this area but at least the wonderful breakfast with champagne is included in the price.

The tasting takes place in the accommodation itself, a bottle of Brut 1er Cru is very affordable at 16 € and tastes great. Make sure you dry all of their champagne, since it’s very high quality wine.

 

 

Marc Chauvet

3 rue de la Liberté, 51500 Rilly la Montagne

 

As we strolled through the village, we discovered a house with a pink logo – of course we had to ring the doorbell immediately and ask for a tasting.

The owner opened the door and for a reasonable price of15 € we could taste 3 excellent champagnes: the Brut Tradition, the Brut Millésime 2012 and the Brut Sélection. Unfortunately, a free tasting is only possible with a purchase of 30+ (!!) bottles. The owner explained us an interesting fact: a champagne in a magnum bottle tastes always better than the exact same champagne in a normal bottle. There are 11 different bottle sizes available, so we highly recommend trying a magnum champagne.

 

 

 

 

 

Reims

Our last stop was Reims, the other heart of the Champagne region.

 

notre dame of Reims

 

At first we thought that a full day in Reims would not be enough to explore the city, but fortunately one day was enough. Our first stop was the Avenue de Champagne, where we passed the houses Veuve Clicquot and Mumm in order to go directly to Pommery.

 

 

 

 

Maison de Champagne Vranken-Pommery

5 place du Général Gouraud, 51100 Reims

 

 

The Pommery champagne house was mentioned at the beginning of our article – Pommery has a very interesting history: Pommery exports a large part of its champagne to England, as Pommery is one of the most common brands of champagne in England. It was also Madame Pommery, who made the first “brut”, and thus ushered in a new era in champagne production.

 

 

The tour at Pommery is a bit more expensive than the one at Mercier at € 23 (a glass for tasting), but we strongly advise you to visit this champagne house too, as the guided tour (by walking) is absolutely amazing and so worth the money.

 

 

In addition to champagne, Pommery has a huge art collection in their wine cellar.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

A trip to Champagne is worth the money!

 

Even if we exaggerated it with our purchases maybe a little bit, you won’t get such an excellent price / quality ratio anywhere else than in the champagne region directly. It’s not just the price, which makes it so attractive to buy the champagne in the Champagne, it’s also the selling concept of the wineries and champagne houses which provides excellent value added services (tour, tasting etc..) at the end of the day. One of our biggest plus was the fact that we were both able to speak French, otherwise it is almost impossible to have the same experience (especially with smaller winemakers) because not everyone speaks English, and especially not the elder ones. The large houses offer guided tours in various languages, and English is widely spoken in cafes and restaurants, but it is kinda difficult to just ring the doorbell and ask for a tasting without knowing a word in French. Nevertheless, whether you are a champagne lover – speak French or not, we would highly recommend a trip to this indescribably idyllic area, because everyone has to visit this beautiful spot on earth.

 

 

In terms of LGBTQ friendliness we cannot say much about it as we were not in a gay bar (and focused on champagne during this trip). We behaved quite obviously as a couple and nobody seems to care at all – that’s how it should be :)

Frankreich

Champagner – auf den Spuren des festlichsten Getränkes der Welt

 

Eine Reise durch die Champagne

 

Der Champagner (französisch champagne) ist ein Schaumwein, der aus Trauben hergestellt wird, die nach streng festgelegten Regeln in dem Weinbaugebiet Champagne (frz. la Champagne) in Frankreich gelesen werden – so liest sich die Definition auf Wikipedia, aber wo genau befindet sich nun die Champagne und was macht die Trauben dieser Region so besonders?

 

 

Die Region

Die Champagne liegt ca. 2,5 Autostunden von Luxembourg entfernt, somit die perfekte Distanz für einen Kurztrip. Das Anbaugebiet hat etwa 34.000 Hektar in fünf Départements: Marne, Aube, Aisne, Haute-Marne und Seine-et-Marne, mit den Kernstädten Reims und Épernay. Die Hauptanbaugebiete sind Montagne de Reims, Vallée de la Marne, Côte des Blancs und Côte des Bar. Wie ihr anhand unserer Karte sehen könnt, sind die Regionen sehr ausgedehnt, was man auch an den unterschiedlichen Bodentypen merkt.

 

Hautevillers

 

 

Die Trauben

Für die Herstellung von Champagner werden folgende Rebsorten verwendet: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay und Pinot Meunier. Die Mischung dieser Rebsorten bestimmt anschließend den Charakter des Champagners. Die blauen Trauben (Pinot Meunier und Pinot Noir) werden weiß gekeltert. Sie verleihen dem Champagner Kraft und Körper, während die weiße Traube (Chardonnay) ihm die Rasse und Frische schenkt. Woher wir das so genau wissen? Nunja, wenn ihr ein bisschen weiter lest, erfährt ihr, dass wir bei einigen Winzern zur Probe waren, und diese erzählen nun mal sehr gerne vom Herzstück ihres Champagners.

 

 

Die Champagner Herstellung

Während die Männer auf der faulen Haut lagen, revolutionierten Madame Veuve Clicquot und Madame Pommery gemeinsam mit dem Mönch Dom Perignion die Perfektionierung des Champagners. Klingt lustig, stimmt aber. Betrachtet man die Geschichte des Champagners kommen immer wieder außergewöhnliche Frauen darin vor, die entweder durch ihre Erfindungen oder ihren Geschäftssinn den Champagner revolutionierten.

 

Madame Veuve Chlicquot: erfand 1806 das Rütteln und Dérogieren

Madame Pommery: erfand 1874 den „brut nature“, bis dato waren die Schaumweine süß und wurden ausschließlich fürs Dessert verwendet.

 

Auf jeden Fall werden heute mehrere angesehene Champagnerhäuser von Frauen wie Vitalie Taittinger oder Nathalie Vranken geleitet, was wir super finden, denn die Franzosen wussten schon sehr früh, dass Frauen dafür eine vernünftige Wahl sind :)

Champagner ist ein Schaumwein, der lediglich in einem kleinen Anbaugebiet hergestellt wird und unterliegt strengen Herstellungsvorschriften.

Anbaugebiet nahe Avize

 

Einer der größten Unterschiede zur Weinherstellung liegt daran, dass ca. 80 % der produzierten Champagner aus einer Assemblage bestehen: das bedeutet, das verschiedene Jahrgänge der Grundweine zu einer Assemblage verschnitten werden, um so den typischen Charakter der jeweiligen Champagner Marken beizubehalten. Bei diesem Champagner entfällt dann natürlich auch die Jahresangabe auf der Flasche.

 

Besteht der Champagner aus einem einzigen Jahrgang, wird er Millésime genannt.

 

Die zweite Gärung findet nach der Assemblage statt und dem Wein wird Liqueur de tirage (Hefe und Zucker) dazu gegeben. Es gibt 2 Möglichkeiten die Hefe-Zucker Mischung anschließend in den Flaschenhals zu bekommen.

 

Methode 1 (ältere Methode) pupitres de remuage

Die mit einem Kronkorken verschlossenen Flaschen werden in sogenannte Rüttel Pulte gesteckt und müssen täglich um einen bestimmten Grad (händisch) gedreht werden.

 

 

Methode 2 gyropalettes

Die Flaschen werden in sogenannte Gyropaletten gestellt, diese rütteln die Flaschen anschließend automatisch durch. Qualitätstechnisch wurde uns versichert, dass beide Verfahren absolut gleichwertig sind.

 

 

In diesem Prozess entsteht die Kohlensäure, die den Champagner perlen lässt.

Um den Liqueur de tirage aus der Flasche zu bekommen wird der Hals der Flasche in ein Eisbad geführt, der Pfropfen gefriert und durch den dadurch entstandenen Druck schießt dieser raus. Dieser Vorgang wird auch Degorgieren genannt.

Um den dadurch entstandenen Flüssigkeitsverlust auszugleichen, wird dem nun fast fertigen Champagner noch die Versanddosage mit dem dementsprechenden Zuckergehalt zugeführt. Eine der gängigsten Versionen ist BRUT: Dossierung mit 0 bis 12g/L Restzucker.

 

 

 

Unsere Route: Épernay, Hautvillers, Cramant, Avize, Mesnil, Rilly la Montagne & Reims

 

Insgesamt waren wir 4 Tage unterwegs und haben uns zum Ziel gesetzt, die Kultur des Champagners und der Region so authentisch wie möglich zu erfahren. Dazu wollten wir eher in kleine familiäre Kellereien gehen und uns lediglich zwei der großen Champagnerhäuser ansehen – Mercier in Épernay und Pommery in Reims. Hier müssen wir unbedingt erwähnen, dass wir uns im Vorfeld nicht über Kellereien oder Champagner informiert haben, sondern die Winzer lediglich spontan ausgewählt haben. Wir sind stehen geblieben und haben geklingelt – ja ihr hört richtig, dies ist der beste Weg um die wahre Champagner Experience zu bekommen!

Epernay liegt dierekt an der Route du Champagne

 

Épernay

Angefangen hat unsere Reise in Épernay. Épernay liegt ca. 2 Autostunden nördlich von Paris und ist mit Reims das Herzstück der Champagne. Unser Highlight in Épernay war definitiv die wunderschöne Avenue de Champagne, an der die verschiedenen Champagner Häuser wie Moët Chandon, Mercier, Boizel etc. liegen.

Champagner Haus neben Champagner Haus – hier Boizel

 

 

Unterkunft

Chambre D’hôtes Les Epicuriens

9 Rue Jean Thévenin, 51200 Épernay

 

Unsere Chambre d’ hôte (B&B) lag mitten in Épernay und wir können diese Unterkunft absolut weiterempfehlen. Die nette Madame begrüßte uns direkt mit einem Glas Champagner und kleinen Aperitif Teilchen. Große Zimmer, Sauberkeit und ein exzellentes Frühstück am Morgen (von der Gastgeberin persönlich ins Zimmer serviert) bilden eine ausgezeichnete Ausgangssitzation, um die Weinhänge der Champagne zu erkunden.

unser Frühstück

 

Mercier

68 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Épernay

 

Der Champagner der Marke Mercier ist einer der umsatzstärksten Champagner in Frankreich. Betritt man das Gebäude von Mercier, springt einem direkt das riesige Weinfass ins Auge. Mercier ließ das Fass anlässlich der Weltausstellung 1889 mit mehr als 20 Ochsen Paaren nach Paris bringen und sein „Le foudre“ wurde lediglich vom Eiffelturm übertroffen.

 

Die Führung durch die Kellerei findet in einem kleinen Zug statt und ist äußerst anschaulich gemacht. Neben den hundert tausenden Champagner Flaschen konnten wir viel über die Geschichte (Audioguide) und die Fresken in den Kellerein lernen. Ein Sache, die uns persönlich aber aufhören ließ war der Fakt das Mercier Ende des 19. Jhdts. nach Luxembourg verlegen ließ, und somit unser kleines Land auch Teil seines grossen Imperiums wurde.

Der Preis der Tour inkl. Verkostung von 3 Gläser Champagner lag bei 28 €.

 

 

Vignobles Michel Gonet

37 Avenue de Champagne, 51200 Épernay

Gelegen auf der wunderschönen Avenue de Champagne befindet sich die Kellerei von Michel Gonet, eine Location die durch ihren wunderschönen Gastgarten überzeugte. Für 15 € bekamen wir 3 Gläser hauseigenen Champagner, unter anderem einen Champagner der durch seinen leichten Whiskey Geschmack überzeugte. Dieses kleine Schloss ist der perfekte Ort für eine kleine Pause, um die Atmosphäre der Champagne zu genießen.

 

 

 

Hautvillers

Das kleine Dörfchen Hautvillers liegt keine 10 Minuten von Épernay entfernt und wird als Wiege des Champagners bezeichnet. In der Benediktinerabtei von Hautvillers war es tatsächlich der Mönch Dom Pérignon, der im 17. Jhdt den ersten Wein zu Champagner verarbeitete.

Heute ist dieses Dorf durch kleine Kellerein und super Aussichtspunkte geprägt, unter Anderem einen wunderschönen Picknick Platz. Unser Tipp: schnappt euch eine Decke, Baguette und Käse sowie eine Flasche Champagner und genießt die Aussicht auf die Weinberge.

 

 

Cramant

Am nächsten Tag ging unsere Reise weiter in die Côte de Blancs. Auf den weißen Kreide-Kalk-Böden, die der Côte de Blancs ihren Namen gegeben hat, wächst denn auch fast ausschließlich die weiße, der drei Hauptrebsorten der Champagne, der Chardonnay.

unsere Vorstellung von einer Flasche :)

 

Lancelot-Royer

540 rue du Général de Gaulle, 51530 Cramant

 

Diese haben wir im vorbeifahren entdeckt, da wir unbedingt ein Foto von der riesigen Champagner Flasche machen wollten. Anschließend statteten wir dem Winzer, der zum Glück zu Hause war einen Besuch ab.

 

Das Sortiment von Lancelot-Royer umfasst Cuvées Réserve und Grand Crus. Hergestellt aus 100% Chardonnay Trauben überzeuge er durch seine Leichtigkeit und frische. Der Flaschenpreis liegt zwischen 17,35 € und 29,60 €. Die Verkostung und Führung durch die Kellerei war für uns gratis, da wir anschließend natürlich ein paar Flaschen mitnehmen mussten.

 

 

Avize

Avize befindet sich direct nach Crament auf der Champagner-Strasse. Das relativ verlassend aussehende Dorf hat jedoch mehr zu bieten als man ahnen mag.

 

die Gassen von Avize

 

 

Le Brun Servenay

14 place Léon Bourgeois, 51190 Avize

Verkostungsraum

Ein Besuch bei Le Brun Servenay ist ein absolutes Muss in Avize! Die kleine Probierstube sieht richtig schön aus und neben Champagner bietet diese Kellerei auch hauseigene Champagner Flöten an. Ihr Extra-brut Cuvée Chardonnay Millésime 2006, welcher für 30,50 € relativ günstig ist, wurde im Hachette des vins Guide mit einem Herz ausgezeichnet, seine Konkurrenz waren große Häuser wie Krug, deren Flaschen sicherlich nicht für 30,50 € zu kaufen sind.

 

Unser Favorit war der Grand Cru Cuvée „Melodie en C.“ aus 100% Chardonnay, für 19,70 €. Zu Empfehlen ist jedoch auch der Rosé!

 

Obwohl die nette Dame zum selben Zeitpunkt eine bereits angemeldete Gruppe erwartete (wir waren spontan da) hatte sie sich wirklich viel Zeit für uns genommen und wir hatten mehr als 5 Gläser intus, als wir fertig waren.

 

 

 

Gerard Dubois

67 rue Ernest Vallé, 51190 Avize

Ganz ehrlich – dieses Tasting war eines der besten. Nicht nur dem Champagner wegen, sondern weil es genau das war, was wir ursprünglich wollten. Gefunden per Zufall, dachten wir uns wir klingeln einfach mal. Ein alter Mann öffnete uns die Tür und auf die Frage, ob er Zeit für eine Verkostung hätte, antwortete er mit vollem Mund, dass er gerade am Essen wäre, wir könnten aber in einer halben Stunde wieder kommen. Anfangs war uns noch etwas mulmig, aber als wir erneut vor seiner Tür standen, lud er uns direkt in sein Wohnzimmer ein. Jawohl, die gesamte Verkostung fand in seinem privaten Wohnzimmer statt. Stolz zeigte er uns die Flaschen seines Großvaters, Fotos von seinen Hunden und seinen eigenen Weinen. Wir probierten einen ausgezeichneten Blanc de Blancs Cuvée von 2003, der mit ca. 28 € verkauft wurde sowie weitere Réserves und seinen Rosé. Das Tasting pro angefangener Flasche kostet normalerweise 12 €, aber sobald man etwas kauft, ist es im Preis mit drinnen.

 

 

 

 

Veuve J. Lanaud

3 place Léon Bourgeois, 51190 Avize

 

Dieses Champagner Haus ist sehr Touristen-freundlich. Nicht das es die anderen nicht wären, aber die Flyer sind auf Englisch und die nette Dame erklärte uns das sie sehr viel Internationales Klientel in Empfang nehmen würde. Nicht zuletzt, da die Verkostung vor dem Haus mittels Tafel angepriesen wird, im Gegensatz zu den anderen Kellereien in Avize. Eine Abfertigung war es jedoch keineswegs, ihr Cuvée (66% Chardonnay, 17% Pinot Noir und 17% Meunier), Preis 17,90 € schmeckte hervorragend. Sie bieten auch spezielle Champagner an (limited editions) wie z.B den Cuvée Marie Joséphine für 31 €. Die Verkostung kostet 15 € pro Person, ist aber ab einem Kauf von 3 Flaschen pro Person gratis. Wir profitierten vom Letzteren :)

 

Solltet ihr vom vielen Champagner hungrig sein, empfehlen wir euch das „Le Recommandé“.

Diese Diashow benötigt JavaScript.

 

Diese Brasserie befindet sich im Gebäude der alten Post und ist einen Besuch wert. Neben vielen verschiedenen Champagner bietet dieses Lokal auch Craft Bier und leckere Häppchen zu vernünftigen Preisen an. Das Highlight ist aber mit Abstand die Toilette – stepping out of the closet ist hier das Motto.

 

 

 

Le Mesnil-sur-Oger

Von Avize aus ging es weiter über Oger nach Le Mesnil-sur-Oger. Eigentlich hatten wir auch noch vor weiter nach Vertus zu fahren, dies war uns aber aus Zeitgründen nicht möglich, da die meisten Kellerein nur bis 17:00 geöffnet sind.

 

Launois père et fils

2 Avenue Eugène Guillaume, 51190 Le Mesnil-sur-Oger

 

Hier ist allein schon die Location einen Besuch wert. Die Kellerei befindet sich in einem Schloss, die Verkostung findet auf riesigen Rennessaince Couchen statt. Vom Champagner waren wir nicht wirklich überzeugt. Uns fehlte die Frische und das „Spritzige“. Einen können wir jedoch empfehlen, den Rose Valentine, aus 100% Pinot noir. Verkostung war gratis, obwohl wir lediglich eine Flasche für 19,75 € gekauft haben.

 

 

 

Rilly la Montagne

Gelegen in dem Montagne de Reims ist Rilly la Montagne der perfekte Ausgangspunkt um Reims zu besichtigen und bekannt für ihre Premier Crus. Premier Cru bezeichnet das erste Gewächs. Rangmäßig unterhalb der Premier-Cru-Güter gibt es die zweiten, dritten, vierten und fünften Gewächse, dementsprenden ist die Qualität dieses Champagners äußerst hochwertig.

Rapsfelder auf den Weg dahin

Das Dorf ist wunderschön und wir kamen uns ein bisschen im Monaco des Champagners vor, da hier wirklich an jeder Ecke exzellente Champagner Kellerein waren.

 

Unterkunft

Les Bulles Dorées, Champagne Didier Herbert

32 Rue de Reims, 51500 Rilley la Montagne

 

Unsere Unterkunft war direkt im Champagner Haus von Didier Herbert, im Herzen der Weinberge untergebracht, und bestand aus 4 Zimmern. Sehr chic eingerichtet gab es ein gemeinschafts- Wohnzimmer mit eingebauten Weinschrank mit hauseigenen Champagner, sowie einen wunderschönen Garten.

 

 

Wir haben natürlich von diesem Angebot profitiert und uns kurzerhand mit einer guten Flasche Brut Rosé Premier Cru in den Garten gesetzt.

 

 

Die Preise pro Nacht sind mit 150 € zwar etwas höher, allerdings ist hier ein wundervolles Frühstück mit Champagner im Preis inbegriffen.

 

Die Verkostung findet in der Unterkunft selbst statt, eine Flasche Brut 1er Cru ist mit 16 € sehr erschwinglich und schmeckt hervorragend.

 

 

Marc Chauvet

3 rue de la Liberté, 51500 Rilly la Montagne

 

Als wir durch das Dorf schlenderten, entdeckten wir ein Haus mit pinkem Logo – natürlich mussten wir sofort klingeln und nach einer Degustation fragen.

 

Die Besitzerin öffnete uns die Tür und für 15 € konnten wir 3 exzellente Champagner probieren: den Brut Tradition, den Brut Millésime 2012 sowie den Brut Sélection. Leider ist eine gratis Verkostung erst ab dem Kauf von 30 (!!) Flaschen möglich. Ein interessanter Fakt, der uns hier erklärt wurde: Ein Champagner aus einer Magnum Flasche schmeckt immer besser als aus einer normalen Flasche. Insgesamt gibt es 11 verschiedene Flaschengrößen, die je nach Größe dementsprechend länger brauchen um „trinkreif“ zu sein.

 

 

 

 

Reims

Unser letzter Stopp war die Stadt Reims, das Herzstück der Champagne.

Kathedrale von Reims

Anfangs dachten wir uns, ein ganzer Tag in Reims würde nicht ausreichen, um die Stadt ausreichend zu erkunden, dem war es aber zum Glück nicht so. Unser erster Stopp war die Avenue de Champagne, wo wir an den Häusern Veuve Clicquot und Mumm vorbei fuhren, denn es ging direkt zu Pommery.

 

 

 

Maison de Champagne Vranken-Pommery

5 place du Général Gouraud, 51100 Reims

 

Die Kellerei Pommery haben wir bereits am Anfang unseres Beitrags erwähnt – da Pommery eine sehr interessante Geschichte hat: Pommery exportiert einen großen Teil seiner Ware nach England, da Pommery eine der meistgetrunkensten Marken von Champagner in England ist. Es war auch Madame Pommery, die den ersten Brut herstellte, und somit eine neue Ära in der Champagner – Produktion eingeleitet hat.

 

Die Führung bei Pommery ist zwar mit 23 € (ein Glas zur Verkostung) etwas teurer als die bei Mercier, aber wir raten euch dringend, auch dieses Champagner Haus zu besuchen, da die Führung (zu Fuß) sehr sehenswert ist.

 

 

Neben Champagner wird auch Kunst zur Schau gestellt, unter anderem auch im Weinkeller.

 

Diese Diashow benötigt JavaScript.

 

 

 

Eine Reise in die Champagne ist ihr Geld wert!

 

Auch wenn wir am Ende des Tages etwas übertrieben haben mit unseren Einkäufen, bekommt man nirgends so ein exzellentes Preis – Leistungsverhältnis und dazu noch so eine gute Beratung beim Champagner Kauf als in der Champagne selbst. Unser großer Vorteil war jedoch, dass wir beide relativ gut Französisch sprechen, da es ansonsten (vor allem bei kleineren Winzern) fast unmöglich ist, die gleiche Erfahrung zu machen, wie wenn man der Sprache nicht mächtig ist. Die großen Häuser bieten Führungen in verschiedenen Sprachen an und auch in Cafés und Restaurants wird teils gutes Englisch gesprochen, schwierig wirds jedoch, wenn man bei Häusern einfach klingelt und nach einer Verkostung fragt. Nichtsdestotrotz würden wir, egal ob ihr nun Champagner Liebhaber seit – Französisch könnt oder nicht eine Reise in diese unbeschreiblich idyllische Gegend nur empfehlen, da man diesen schönen Fleck auf der Erde einfach gesehen haben muss.

 

 

 

LGBTQ mäßig können wir nicht viel dazu sagen, da wir in keiner Gay Bar waren (und uns bei diesem Trip eher auf Champagner konzentrierten). Wir haben uns ziemlich offensichtlich als Paar benommen und niemanden hatte diese Tatsache interessiert – so soll es sein :)